#TuesFlashFicTrain Winner!

Prompt Winner: Stephanie Ayers

Stephanie Ayers

This past week, we had two lovely entries to the prompt. It’s been a ton of fun reading through the responses and seeing how the story develops. Thanks to Renee and Stephanie for being so dedicated!

Voters decided, so this week we congratulate winner Stephanie Ayers! Her response was full of emotion and intrigue and takes our story into this week.

Check out her winning entry below and stay tuned next week to see how the story ends!


A flashback zapped me from the dusty room. My fingers still caressed the soft velvet; the fake fur pure white, the plastic smell of the department store drifted to my nose. Music played softly in the background. The room spun with powerful scents of pine and cinnamon, a fire flared in an open fireplace. The heat penetrated through my red sweater and sweat moistened my skin. An unrecognized voice mumbled behind me. I turned toward the sound and gasped. The little bear in my grip tumbled to the floor and into the ashes scattered in front of the fire.

“Octavia!” Ice edged the shrewd voice.

I trembled and reached out to gain my balance. The sharp tips of the evergreen bit into the soft flesh of my palm. Instead of supporting me, the whole tree crashed down on top of me, the small ornaments jabbing splintered glass into my skin. My mouth quivered, and one tear after another fell on my cheek. I shrank into myself as the old woman raced towards me, her hand raised high, and her voice a belt across my back.

“You stupid child” echoed from the walls around me as reality crashed in, the dampness on my face the only witness to my nightmare.

“Oh my god.” The words slipped from my lips before I knew they desired release. I clutched the teddy tight in my arms, pressing the musty body into mine, my nose burying itself in its head. I squeezed as hard as I could, but something resisted. I turned the bear over. Small, neat stitches held his back seam together.

Someone had hidden something inside.


Be sure to visit Stephanie and congratulate her all over social media:

And check out her project,  Our Write Side – a community of writer resources and awesome stuff!

Thanks again to all our participants! You guys are awesome and I can’t wait to see what you come up with for the ending to the story. Don’t forget to start thinking about titles – the end is near and we need a title for when I post all the pieces of the story together.

Keep an eye out for tomorrow’s prompt!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

