WOW 555 – Rising from the ashes

Hello & happy Friday!

By the time this post goes up, I’ll be overseas, chillin’ in London! Woo! Since I’m going on vacation, I’ve decided to write this much earlier than I usually do.

Since it’s so early on in the week, I really don’t have much to talk about this time. I will, however, re-remind those of you reading this that I intend to pick up the #TuesFlashFicTrain contest when I come back. The new prompt won’t go up next week (I’ll still be in London on Tuesday and will need a few days to recover from vacation mode) but I will be trying to come up with a new one for the following week! Also, I’m hoping the change in pace will inspire my own writing a little more! So I’ll be taking the time to work on Withered Legacy.

This week’s #WOW555 prompt, yet again, is perfect! Just what I needed to keep Emma and Malakai progressing to the end.

Prompt: write an action scene in which someone is undeniably beaten.

Story time!

~~~

Round Two

Frustration was beginning to overwhelm – how long had it been since the shadows? My surroundings remained the same, with no visible progress despite all the walking. Every few minutes I sent another stream of fire out to light the way. The current stream was dying out, but I couldn’t bring myself to send another one, collapsing in anger and defeat. My reflection stared back at me, still unnerving though becoming more familiar the more I looked at it.

“Let me out.” My own voice echoed around me, though I hadn’t spoken.

“What?” I looked around, unsure of what I was hearing.

“Let me out, Emma.” Finally, I looked below me, at my reflection again. She no longer copied my movements, but knelt against the glass on all fours, looking at me. “Let me out, and I can help you.”

Emma!” Malakai’s voice – faint but filled with pain – called out to me. It seemed to come from everywhere at once.

“Malakai?” All I got in response was a cry of pain. “Malakai!”

“Let me out, and we can help him. Hurry, before it’s too late.” Her eyes reflected my panic.

“How?”

“Break the glass.”

I didn’t have much of a choice but to do as the reflection said – so I did. Clenching my fist, I drew my arm back and punched downwards. It cracked. Revitalized by the success, I punched again and again. On the fifth hit, the glass exploded, shards floating around me. For a moment, I was mesmerized by the dancing pieces, until I remembered my reflection. Nothing stood between us now.

“Let’s go.” Before I could react, she launched herself at me.

I shot upright – my chest was tight, heart pounding as if about to burst. It was a moment before my eyes adjusted to the light. When they did, the scene before me made my heart sink.

Esther lay on the ground, thrown aside like a ragdoll. Some yards away, the witch had Malakai by the neck, his struggle doing little to loosen her grip. His body went limp before she threw him aside to join his sister.

“No!” I managed to catch his body, praying that he was still breathing. His chest barely moved and a gash in his side only made things worse. I muttered a minor healing spell – all I had time to do – before turning my attention to the witch. All I could do was hope he’d hold on.

“You’re awake.” She tried to hide her surprise.

With both hands on fire, I lunged towards her. She was ready, extending her hand to stop me in my tracks and launching me against a wall. The pain of impact took my breath away, the sound of cracking bone overtaking my senses. I cried out, but stood upright again, the pain quickly replaced by a strange chill. Numb, I grabbed my shoulder and pushed it back into place, shivering as my collarbone mended itself.

Reinvigorated, I lunged again.

~~~

There you have it! I love fight scenes! Don’t forget to check out the other entries on Saturday and vote! If you want to play, keep a lookout for the call for entries!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image credit: Image found via Google Image Search on quotepixel.com

1 thought on “WOW 555 – Rising from the ashes”

Tell me what you think!

