WOW555 – Reflection

Happy Friday!

This blog has been much busier this week than usual, with the attempted launch of my #TuesFlashFicTrain contest. If you saw yesterday’s update, though, you’ll know that the contest was a no-go due to no participation, and on hold until I get back from England (8/26). Then I’m going to re-group and try again. We’ll see how it goes.

In the meantime, #WOW555 will keep me going! This week’s prompt was tougher than I thought it would be, but it’s brought me to a great spot! I’m excited about how the story will progress/finish. Plus it spurred some inspiration for Withered Legacy! Of course, I won’t be posting the product of said inspiration, but I’m looking forward to getting back to work on it.

Prompt: write about a reflection.

Story time!

~~~

Doppelganger

It was suffocating – I held my breath as the shadows pulled me under, and I could feel them squirming, shoving, moving against me. Slowly, my body continued to slide down. I was afraid to call out, to open my mouth and risk the cool shadows making their way inside me. Would I drown in them? How much longer could I hold my breath? Just when I thought I couldn’t take it any longer, the shadows around me dissipated, letting me go so I fell onto a cold, smooth surface.

Coughing, I pushed myself up and tried to take in my surroundings. I could hardly see a thing, still shrouded in darkness, my eyes striving to adjust to the minimal light. Once I regained control of my breathing, I held out my palm to conjure a small bit of flame. It was enough to illuminate a small area around me, but it didn’t reveal anything about where I was. A bit of movement out of the corner of my eye drew my attention to the floor, which I soon realized was something akin to glass. Curious, I brushed the surface with my free hand, and noticed my reflection was completely visible, as if I were standing on a mirror’s surface.

As if everything weren’t strange enough, my skin was a different color than I was accustomed to – in the reflection, it was much paler, like a muted version of my actual skin color. Was I still recovering from the cold? There was no way. Alarmed, I bent closer to the floor, attempting to examine my face. I jumped back at what I saw, nearly burning myself from the loss of concentration. Taking a moment to collect myself, I tried again, this time preparing for the woman that stared back up at me from the floor. It was me, and yet it couldn’t be – the reflection I was seeing had much sharper features, with hair that matched my father’s – yet she copied my every move.

Was there still some of my father’s side locked inside me? Is that what I was seeing? My head was beginning to hurt, a thudding in my chest coming along with it. I reached around to grab a lock of my hair – it still looked brown, as did the skin on my hand.

“It’s just the reflection – probably a magic mirror or something.” My muttering wasn’t very convincing, but I took comfort in my words. “Malakai!”

The word died almost as soon as I called out.

“Hello!?”

Nothing.

Frustrated, I grew the flames in my hands as large as I could make them and launched them as far as they would go. The room lit in an inferno, but it only revealed more of the endless mirror-floor, my ethereal reflection mimicking my movements with the same results.

I had no choice but to pick a direction and start walking. At least this time I didn’t have to deal with unbearable temperatures.

~~~

Looking forward to next week! Usually, I write these on Thursday nights (because I’m a procrastinator), but I’ll be setting everything up Monday night next week since I won’t be around to put it off that long. Vacation here I come!

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the entries on Saturday and vote for you favorite. If you enjoy writing, give it a try!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on pinterest.com

2 thoughts on “WOW555 – Reflection”

Tell me what you think!

