Hop on #TuesFlashFicTrain Round 2 – Week 1.1!

Welcome back! For once, this post goes up on time 🙂

Hope everyone’s made it to the end of NaNoWriMo and beyond. If you saw yesterday’s post, you’ll know I didn’t make it to 50k. I was doing really well up until about halfyway when I began to lose steam, but I did get enough done to feel accomplished. At least now I have something of a base to work with that I didn’t have before November. How did you guys do? Anyone make it to 50k? Here’s hoping everyone’s at least made a dent in their stories!

NaNoWriMo always gets me thinking about my writing process, and how – even though I don’t have a set ritual – I always end up creating the same environment for myself when I sit down to write, no matter where I am. The most crucial thing to me is having music – what kind depends on the kind of mood I’m going for in my writing. It serves a double purpose – both to inspire and to shut me out from the rest of the world so I don’t get distracted. This week’s prompt, then, is to choose a song and somehow incorporate it into the piece. It could be playing in the background or stuck in the main character’s head. It could even just be the inspiration. Let your imaginations run wild! Also, makes sure to mention what song you used!

Remember, keep it under 400 words & submit your response in the comment section below. Don’t forget to include your twitter handles and/or other social media links for promotion! Submissions close Wednesday at 11:59PM EST – tell your friends!

Questions, suggestions? Check out the rules in more detail and/or drop me a line!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on quotesgram.com

Tell me what you think!

