#ThursThreads – Too Honest

Prompt: “Why are you telling me this?”


Death grows impatient, pacing back and forth in the shadows as we wait for the last of the sunlight to die out.

“You’re going to burn a path into the grass if you don’t stop.” I stretch, sore from sitting in this tree. But it’s a good hiding spot, in the security camera’s blind spot and with a clear view of the visitor center’s back entrance.

He looks at the ground, where there isn’t so much as a hint of his presence. After all, Death can’t quite affect the world around him here. Otherwise he wouldn’t need me. When he looks back up, he glares.

“Made you look.” I stifle a chuckle. “For an immortal being, you have no patience, do you?”

“For a mortal one, you’re much too comfortable with me.” There’s a gravity to his voice any other mortal would tremble at.

Before I can respond, the back door opens – the security guard I’d seen smoking the day before out for another cigarette. He props the door open with a rock and walks a few feet away. Ten seconds later he’s out cold and we’re inside. The door shuts with a soft click.

“I never told you my name.”

“You were just complaining-”

“Arius.” He says it like it’s a shameful secret he hadn’t meant to share. “Haven’t given someone my name in eons.”

“Why are you telling me this?”

He seems as confused as I am, but then the expression clears. Arius shrugs and walks past me.


Still haven’t quite figured these two out, but we’re getting there.

As always, think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.