#ThursThreads – Risks

Prompt: “Someone has to do it.”


“You don’t know what you’re walking into.” Valmong’s thinly veiled irritation colors his words. He steps in front of me, startling me out of my preparations.

“I’ll be fine.” Up close, he towers over me. If he really wanted to, he could stop me. “We don’t have a choice – someone has to do it, and it can’t be you.” With his horns and tail, even in this world, he sticks out.

The more we talk about it, the more exhausting the topic becomes. I try to focus on packing my supplies, on stilling the shaking of my hands.

“Camilla,” He places his hands over mine, stopping my progress completely. “You don’t need to do this.”

“Yes I do. I’m the least threatening option. They’ll see you coming a mile away.” And I can’t bring myself to let him risk his life, again. Not if I can risk mine instead. But I don’t say that out loud. “It’s the smarter play.”

“The riskier one.” His fingers take my chin, tilting my face to look at him. Valmong’s eyes hold mine, and for a moment I can’t breathe. He’s scared. My mind fogs at his proximity as we lean closer, until his lips brush mine. The kiss is slow, hesitant. Heart stuttering against my chest, I let him pull me into his arms. When we break apart, his voice is soft. “You’re walking into a monster den.”

“They won’t even notice me.” My voice is breathless, but clear.

“I hope you’re right.”


Be sure to check out the responses at the prompt!

As always, keep on keeping on!

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.