#ThursThreads – Reluctance 2.0

Prompt: “Time to go into battle.”


I’ve never prepared for a fight.

Stocking up on supplies, readying weapons, and generally making peace with the fact that I might not live to see tomorrow is not a thing I ever thought I’d do. But here I am.

Across the room, Valmong moves like he’s done this a million times.

And maybe he has. I have no idea what his life was like before I fell into it. It strikes me, suddenly, that I wonder what it will be like after I’m gone. Would he miss me? Even if I survive this, I won’t be staying. The goddess will make sure I’m sent home.

I’m not sure if that’s what I want anymore.

Valmong adjusts the strap on his shoulder. “Time to go.”

“Into battle, ready to kick some ass!” Nevari seems entirely too eager, body fidgeting with restless energy. She shifts from foot to foot, like she’s ready to bolt out the door.

If only I had half her self-assurance. Maybe if I did, I wouldn’t be fighting the knot in my throat, or pushing down the words I wish I could say out loud.

Nevari practically bounces out the door. Valmong moves to follow, but stops when he notices me lingering.

“Camilla?” He turns, closing some of the distance. “Are you alright?”

I want to say it. That I don’t want to leave, and that it’s because of him, but the words don’t come.

“Nervous.” I smile, pushing past him before he can ask more questions.


Be sure to check out the responses at the prompt!

As always, keep on keeping on!

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.