#ThursThreads – Gut Feeling

Prompt: “Play the long game.”


It’s a miracle when I finally get my sister alone for more than thirty seconds. She’s in the gardens, taking her usual morning walk, though this time her wife is nowhere to be seen.

“No Kieran today?”

“Sadly, no.” Celeste looks up from a bed of flowers, offering me a smile. “Important meeting with her father’s advisors. I opted out.” Her curious eyes scan the space behind me. “And Nolan?”

“Part of that meeting, probably.” Relieved that she brought him up first, I hurry closer, whispering. “I was hoping to talk to you about him, actually.”

“Oh?”

“Don’t get excited.” Unsure of how to word my thoughts, I just let them spill out. “There’s something…off about him. I don’t know what it is, but I can’t shake the feeling.”

“He’s Kieran’s oldest friend – watched over her since she was a child.” Celeste plucks some flowers before sitting on a nearby bench. “And you think he’s untrustworthy?”

“I don’t know what I think. But something isn’t right. I can feel it.”

“If he wanted to do something, he’s had ample opportunity, Nora.” She hands me a flower, her words dismissive.

“Maybe he’s trying to play the long game?” The bloody crimson of the flower feels ominous, almost prophetic. “My gut has never been wrong before.”

“I think he’s just gotten under your skin and you don’t know how to cope.” Celeste chuckles, elbowing me as if to dispel my nerves.

“I can cope just fine.” But it’s clear she won’t listen.


Be sure to check out the responses at the prompt!

As always, keep on keeping on!

P.S. Don’t forget to check out my new release, The Fiddler of Dawn and Dusk!

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.