#ThursThreads – Convincing

Prompt: “What’s in it for me?”


Nevari is more stubborn than I’d like, but she reminds me of myself. Even if I wasn’t under orders from a goddess or under threat of never making it back home, I think I’d still find myself trying to help her.

Regardless of that, though, the brat is getting under my skin. She refuses to budge, feet firmly rooted, tail twitching in a way that tells me she’ll whip me with it if I get too close. Wouldn’t put it past her to ram me with her horns, either.

“I know you have no reason to trust us.” Valmong’s words are careful, and they clearly come from a place of familiarity. “But we’re not out to steal your father’s secrets.”

“The only reason you even helped me was the bounty on my head.” Her eyes narrow. “You know, the one put out by my father’s killer?”

She’s not wrong. Valmong’s eyes dart to mine, tired and pleading, as if I could be any more convincing than one of her own.

“You’re right. This started because of your bounty, but we don’t have any intention of actually giving you up.” I gesture around us. “We got you out of town, didn’t we?”

Her tail stops twitching, and her periwinkle eyes turn thoughtful. “If I help you, what’s in it for me?”

“Revenge against your dad’s killer, for starters.” I’ve never casually discussed murder before, but I guess there’s a first time for everything.

Nevari’s eyes light up.


Be sure to check out the rest of the responses at the prompt.

As always, think happy thoughts 🙂

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.