#ThursThreads – The Point

Prompt: “He had a point.”


“Are you sure you want to do this?” Ryker looked at her, thinly veiled fear hovering in his eyes. “If I take you to the Dragos’ hideout, there’s no guarantee I can get either of us back out.” He had a point, but Bysen wouldn’t let his fear mingle with her own.

“I just need you to show me.” She reached out to him, placed her hand on his. Bysen had no intention of risking him getting captured by his old masters, but she also couldn’t pass up this opportunity. “You don’t have to go in with me.”

“But-”

“That was our deal, Ryker.” She cut him off before he could argue, startling herself with the volume of her own voice. Looking around to make sure they weren’t overheard, she continued, “And aren’t you bound by your word or something?”

“The benefit of only being half Fey.” He offered a half-hearted smile, pulling his hood farther down as a small crowd passed them by. “I’m only bound by some of the rules.”

Bysen waited until the crowd was out of earshot before speaking again.

“Please, Ryker. Saving my brother from that poison means nothing if I don’t know who targeted him. Just show me where it is.”

Ryker held her stare for what felt like hours. His charcoal gaze seemed to be looking into her, and Bysen wondered what he saw. Was it the same thing everyone else did? A sorry excuse for an elemental?

“Fine.” Resigned, he looked away.


Writing has been like pulling teeth since the new year hit, but this little bit feels like I’m headed in the right direction!

Be sure to check out the rest of the responses at the prompt.

As always, think happy thoughts 🙂

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.