Bleeding typewriter

hemingway
Image found on pinterest.com

Happy Hump Day!

The quote above is one of my favorites. Some day, I want to hang it up in my office. Hemingway also happens to be one of my all-time favorites.

Like I mentioned on Monday, this week’s round of Master Class prompts from Our Write Side is tempting me with all its prompts. Today’s post comes from the “Bleeding typewriter” prompt, if you couldn’t tell 🙂

Time to see what Videl and Marcus are up to!

~~~

After the revelations from the last few days, I’ve been doing my best to avoid being alone with Marcus. It’s not difficult, considering Eva and Mikey are usually around and Lucifer has increased the number  of assignments I’ve been getting lately. When they’re asleep, though, I have to fight my own urge to seek him out. I miss the easy intimacy, the comfort he represented. I think about trying to talk to him – after all, I don’t know that I wouldn’t have done the same thing in his position.

On this particular night, I’m staying away from Marcus by taking over his office. Lucifer has been sending me on errands and expects me to deliver reports on all of them. I don’t usually have to write up reports, but I don’t question it. Whatever the boss wants, he gets and I can’t argue. And so here I am, typing away on an antiquated typewriter while hoping Marcus doesn’t suddenly need something from his office. I’m completely focused on the task at hand, so much so that it’s not until the blood is seeping into the typewriter that I notice Max’s presence.

“What do you want?”

“Things seem a bit icy between you and Marcus – any reason why?” I try not to think about the fact that they probably watch out interactions for fun.

“It’s none of your business.” I continue typing, trying to ignore my mark as it keeps dripping someone else’s blood onto the keys. “I’m busy, if you couldn’t tell. Did you need something?”

“Your grandmother approached your mom – thought you might like to know.” This halts all my progress on the last report, and my head snaps up to look at the angel.

“What?”

“She doesn’t seem to have broached any supernatural topics with her, but it’s probably not off the table yet. Your mother is in quite the state after losing her second husband and all her children. It wouldn’t be difficult to bring her to the kind of desperation your grandmother would take advantage of.”

“Does Lucifer know? And Marcus?”

“Yeah – I told them already. Figured given recent events I would tell you, too, lest Marcus receive orders to keep that from you as well.” I try to ignore the fact that they clearly knew the source of my distance from my demon partner without having to ask me.

“Thank you.” I settle back into the typewriter, successfully ignoring the blood.

“Do you want to talk about it?”

“Not really. Talking about it won’t help – it’s not like I can do anything without the okay from Lucifer, anyway.” I finish up the last report, snatching the page from the typewriter before moving to walk past Max and out the door. Before I exit the room, they reach out with a hand on my shoulder.

“Keeping this up is doing more bad than good – you know that. Talk to him.”

“Did he ask you to talk to me?”

“No – I just don’t like seeing my friends in distress. And happiness is hard to come by in your line of work.”

I don’t look up at them again, but the lack of blood on my arms signals that I’m alone again. Reports in hand, I turn to head down the stairs. Caught up in rereading the materials in my hands, I walk right into Marcus. I jump, nearly dropping everything, but he reaches out and steadies me by the elbow. “Careful.”

“Thanks…” I’m reshuffling the papers, biding my time, Max’s words hovering in the back of my mind. Marcus had his reasons for keeping that information to himself. It’s torture keeping up my anger at him, keeping this distance between us. “Marcus…”

“Max was just here, did he stop to see you, too?” His voice is cautious, like he’s walking on eggshells.

“Yes. He told me about my grandmother approaching my mom.” I finally look up at him and see nothing but concern in his eyes. Is that why he came up? To make sure I was okay?

For an awkward moment, we simply look at each other. Though his eyes betray his apprehension, he brushes a lock of hair behind my ear before sliding his knuckles along my jaw. I find myself leaning into the touch, and before I realize what I’m doing, I drop the reports and close the distance between us, wrapping my arms around his waist and burying my face in his chest. Marcus returns the embrace without hesitation, before whispering, “I’m sorry. I can’t begin to tell you how much.”

I don’t stay anything and simply stay in his arms a little while longer. When I finally pull back, he stops me. “I’m okay. Really. I have to get these reports to Lucifer, but I’ll be right back.”

He nods, bending down to help me recover the reports before placing a kiss on my brow and heading into his office.

~~~

Not sure how I feel about this bit. I do know, however, that I’m glad they’re not fighting anymore. Videl is pretty rational, as far as these things go, and I didn’t see this fight going on for very long anyway. Besides, I think A Vampire’s Bride has plenty angst to go around. I’m all angst-ed out.

As always, think happy thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Bleeding typewriter

Tell me what you think!

