#ThursThreads – Overdose

Standard

Hello!

It also feels like a while since I’ve done a ThursThreads response, so here I am! The best part is that this one moves Provisional Freedom forward. Hooray! I’m still not entirely sure what’s going on here, but it’s starting to come together.

Prompt: “It was probably an overdose.”

Happy reading!

CW: Mentions of suicide

~~~

I’m not sure how long we’ve been walking through the tunnels. At no point has it seemed like we’ve been walking at an incline, but my mother assures me that we’re almost to the top, almost out of purgatory. I know better than to ask how she knows.

“Do you want to take a break?” My mother stops, turning to look at me. There’s something in her eyes that makes me uneasy, but I can’t place what it is.

“Sure.” It’s not until I sit down that I register my exhaustion. A heaviness I didn’t notice before settles in my bones, and all I want to do is rest.

“You can sleep, if you want. I’ll wake you up.” She’s still holding my hand, but I’m not sure if it’s for my benefit or hers.

Leaning back against the tunnel wall, I close my eyes and tell myself it’s just to rest them a few moments.

The room is a mess, a reflection of the young woman lying on the crumpled bed. Several people mill about the room, examining every corner. One of them approaches the body – the young woman is dead – and removes a small bottle from the night stand.

“It was probably an overdose, but we won’t know until we get her back to the lab.”

Somewhere in the background, cries break through the low murmur of conversation.

When I open my eyes, I’m not sitting up, but lying with my head in my mother’s lap.

“Time to go.”

~~~

Be sure to check out other responses throughout the day! There’s always awesome stuff to read for this prompt series.

Friendly reminder: Trying to finish off this round of #TuesFlashFicTrain! Check out the prompt and hop on board!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

