#100WordChallenge – Fear

Fear-Quotes-32
Image found on quotesgram.com

Hello again!

It’s been a pretty good week so far. I even read a book yesterday (gasp!). Really, though, I shouldn’t get ahead of myself. While it’s been a pretty productive week, I feel like it’s only a matter of time before something slips by me again. Fingers crossed it doesn’t happen.

It’s been a while since I’ve done a response to Tara’s #100wordchallenge, so this will be a little bit of a muscle stretch.

Here goes!

~~~

Fear

I’ll never forget the terror in her eyes, the way she shook as I stalked toward her.

Ariella slides closer, wrapping her arm around me as she tucks her head under my chin before pressing a soft kiss to my neck. I struggle to contain the tremor, but remnants of bloodlust shoot through me, mingling with other feelings I shouldn’t entertain. When she looks at me now, there’s no fear – only worry and something else I hope I’m imagining.

It’s selfish to kiss her, but I do it anyway, hoping it’ll assuage the panic rising in my chest.

It doesn’t.

~~~

Didn’t think I’d be writing about Niklaus’ panic today, but here we are! I think he’s my favorite character from the serials, but then again I’ve always had a soft spot for vampires. Angst has been hovering in the back of my mind with him, and I think some conflict (like they need more) is on the horizon for these two.

Friendly reminder: Trying to finish off this round of #TuesFlashFicTrain! Check out the prompt and hop on board!

As always, think happy thoughts!

2 thoughts on “#100WordChallenge – Fear”

Tell me what you think!

