On Ghostbusters

Image courtesy of geek.com

Every once in a while I watch a movie or show that I can’t help but comment on. This is one of those times.

So I managed to convince my boyfriend to go see Ghostbusters. He wasn’t too keen on it but went anyway. Personally, I didn’t have very high hopes for it, but I’m not about to not fund a lady-led film with potential, so I gave it the benefit of the doubt. I tend to reserve judgment on movies until I’ve seen them myself so this was no different.

Maybe it was my low expectations, but I really, really enjoyed it! It was funny – seriously funny – without being vulgar or stupid. It seems to me that most comedy nowadays (unless targeted at children) is one or the other. This was just good, family humor. In the interest of preventing spoilers, I won’t go into too much detail. I will say this, though: Chris Hemsworth really needs to explore his comedic potential more in the future.

As far as the main cast goes, They were awesome. There was nothing particularly groundbreaking about the movie’s feminism, and I think that’s the best part. All the female characters were just doing their jobs and at no point did it seem preachy or anything. I’d say it was a pretty well-done gender bent reboot. The only problem I had with the female characters had less to do with gender and more with race. The one black character is the only non-scientist, and while that’s a nod to the original, it’s an overdone trope I can do without. That being said, she wasn’t stupid and wasn’t only street smart, so I’ll give the writing that.

Overall I really enjoyed the movie and kind of hope they use it as a jumping point for more films like it (lady-led and hopefully going away from the usual tropes). As far as action comedies go, this one gets the job done.

As always, think happy thoughts!

4 thoughts on “On Ghostbusters

  1. Saw it recently too and my thinking is the same as yours: it’s a fun, warm, entertaining movie. Not perfect, no, but definitely worth watching and will hopefully do well enough to warrant a sequel where, it should be hoped, they’ll stray a little more from the formulae.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

