Borrowed Happiness

Writers-Block-By-Novel-Matters
Image found on likesuccess.com – Pretty accurate image of how I feel right now…

Hello!

So I’ve been hardcore slacking lately. A combination of writer’s block and lack of motivation has done quite a number on me, so it’s actually a small miracle that I’m carving out time to write this.

First, a quick update. #TuesFlashFicTrain will be going on hiatus for a while until I can get back on track. I love running the contest, but I have too much on my plate to truly dedicate time to not just putting up the prompt posts but also getting the word out so there’s actual participation. Plus, I really need to focus on my writing and I can’t do that if I’m worrying about the contest. So yeah. There will be one more prompt next week for the sake of finishing up the current round and then we’ll be taking a break.

I have other projects I need to dedicate more time to, namely Withered Legacy. Little to no writing is getting done and that desperately needs to change. Not to mention the fledgling stories that are my serials. I need to get back into my old routine and get myself writing again before I can get others to do the same. Also, there are way too many books sitting on my shelf (physical and digital) that I really need to read. I have bitten off more than I can chew and really need time to digest it all, if you’ll forgive the overused metaphor.

Anyway, on to the prompt!

It feels like forever (a whole month!) since I last wrote anything for Our Write Side’s Master Class Monday, so here we go! The prompt serves as both inspiration and title for the scene.

Prompt: Borrowed Happiness

Enjoy!

~~~

Borrowed Happiness

When did my existence become this?

When did I go from demon at the beck and call of the devil himself to eternal babysitter for my human half-siblings? If my mother weren’t lying in a hospital bed at death’s door, I would laugh at the absurdity of it all.

“Vee?” Eva breaks me out of my thoughts, holding a sheet of paper up for me to see. “Do you like it?”

On the paper, she’s drawn a picture. For a kid, she’s not half bad, and I can tell the picture is supposed to depict us – Marcus, Eva, Mikey, and me. When did she stop drawing our mom and her dad? “You’re getting really good at that.”

“I want to be an artist when I grow up.” She smiles with pride and moves on to show Marcus. Eva still isn’t as comfortable with him as she is with me, but she tries to be polite, and I think she can sense his discomfort and tries to put him at ease.

He nods and mutters something about liking her color choice before going back to reading his book. Yeah – he’s definitely more uncomfortable around her than she is around him. I stifle a chuckle, but he notices. Despite being uncomfortable around my siblings, he offers a small smile. I know this peace  won’t last. It’s only a matter of time before my grandmother comes after the kids again, but I can’t help but take what I can get. After everything is over, I’ll never see them again.

In my arms, Mikey squirms, trying to get comfortable. Instead of continuing to sleep, his eyes blink open and he just stares at me. If Eva is good at detecting Marcus’ discomfort, the baby is psychic when it comes to me. Even though I know it’s impossible for him to know how I’m feeling, I can’t help but think that he’s trying to comfort me as his little hand comes up and gently pats my cheek. He grabs a loose strand of my hair, but he doesn’t yank at it like I expect a baby to do. Mikey just holds it, his eyes looking into me with a terrifying depth that shouldn’t be there.

The baby coos, suddenly bursting into giggles. I can’t help but smile back even through my nerves.

~~~

Ah, children. I’m still struggling with where this is going, but I figured giving Videl another small moment of happiness couldn’t hurt. She could really use the bonding time with her siblings, I think. Anyway, there’s that. Hopefully I can come back to this with another prompt and keep going.

As always, think happy thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Borrowed Happiness”

Tell me what you think!

