#ThursThreads – Dumb Luck

dumb luck
Image found on quoteaddicts.com

Happy Thursday!

Hope everyone’s week has gone well so far. It seems to have flown by for me, but I’m not sure if that’s good or bad yet. Sometimes it feels like I just don’t have all the hours in the day to get done what I want/need to do. Also recovering from being sick is no fun.

Today’s post, as every Thursday, is inspired by #ThursThreads. Still no movement forward on A Vampire’s Bride but I feel it hopefully around the corner. We’ll see. So, today you’ll be getting the direct continuation to last night’s Secondhand Soul post. Nothing major, just Videl grappling with guilt, as usual.

Prompt: “Plan dumb luck.”

~~~

“And this will be your room.” I walk Eva to my bedroom, where Marcus has set up a crib for the baby. I place him inside – still not a peep, the kid sleeps like the dead – before turning to Eva again. “You should get some sleep.”

Eva’s already rubbing her eyes, trying to stifle a yawn. “Not tired.”

“Yes you are.” I can’t help but smile – what can I say? She’s a cute kid. For a second, I even forget I kidnapped them. But of course, the thought brings it all crashing down. When I finally get Eva to crawl into bed, I rummage in her suitcase for her bear and hand it to her. “Now get some rest. I’ll wake you up in a few hours.”

“’Kay.” She’s already dozing off, eyes falling shut moments later.

As I close the door behind me, Marcus waits for me in the hallway.

“If I weren’t already a demon, I’d say I’m going to hell for this.” Marcus chuckles, but I don’t see the humor. “Glad you think it’s funny.”

“We’re protecting them.”

“By lying. Telling Eva we’re angels. What was I thinking? It’s plain dumb luck she even believed me.” I put my face in my hands, trying to dispel the nerves. “My mother is going to lose her mind when she finds out.” If she even makes it out of the hospital.

“Better they be with us than your grandmother, remember?”

“I know.” It’s the only thought keeping me sane.

~~~

I’m still wondering exactly where this story is going. While I was writing this, I had an image of an adult/teenage Eva still in contact with Videl. Maybe it’s the premise for a longer story. We’ll see. It’d be fun to give Videl a sister “her age” to interact with. But that’s for another time (I really don’t need to give myself more projects).

Friendly reminder: Don’t forget to hop on the #TuesFlashFicTrain! We’re near the end of this round so don’t miss your chance to play with Gloria’s story:)

As always, think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

