#ThursThreads – Safety

Hello again!

Today’s been a doozy, so I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to get this one up. Glad I made some time for it, though. I feel like it’s been forever since I played #ThursThreads, all because I skipped out of it last week. Anyway, it’s game time again so here goes!

Prompt: “Necessary for safety.”

Enjoy! We get a little more Ariella/Niklaus today. Can’t wait til I get another prompt that will take me back to Videl! I miss her lol.

~~~

For once, I wake up before Niklaus. He’s still holding me, and I know if I move I’ll wake him, so I stay still and simply listen to him breathe. His face is the calmest I’ve ever seen it, pure serenity and peace. I struggle to remember a time when I didn’t want this – when I didn’t want to wake up here, with him.

When they announced the Bridal Offering in the village and claimed it necessary for safety, I couldn’t have been more furious. Certainly, they didn’t mean the safety of the potential brides? Least of all the safety of the one to get chosen. And yet here I am, and I’ve never felt safer. Though Niklaus hasn’t mentioned it, I know his family expects him to turn me. I was made fully aware of that before being chosen as a bride – all of us were. The thought was responsible for every ounce of dread I felt that night.

“Ariella?” His voice is a murmur. “What time is it?”

“Not sure. Almost sunset, I think.”

He pulls away and stretches. Moving the bed’s curtain to the side, he looks out at the clock in the room. I sit up, trying to cover a yawn.

“So what’s on tonight’s agenda? More hunting?” I try to contain my eagerness to go outside the castle walls, but do a poor job.

“Not quite. My parents wanted to meet for a family meal.” His eyes meet mine, apprehension clear in both of us.

~~~

I’ve been trying to work other vamps into the story, and now seems like the perfect time to throw in some family drama. Dun dun dun!

Be sure to check out the rest of the entries at the prompt post!

Friendly Reminder: #TuesFlashFicTrain round 4 is waiting for a start! Give the prompt a look and see what story you can set off:)

UPDATE: HM FTW!

thursthreads HM

As always, think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

