Sleepless Night

Standard

Happy Hump Day!

This morning, I woke up resigned to the idea that I wouldn’t get a chance to post something today. However, as I was scrolling through social media, I saw that Tara had put up another 100 word challenge – this one harder than all the others. As soon as I saw the prompt, I knew I wouldn’t be getting anything done until I wrote up a piece for it so here I am.

Prompt: Write 100 words on anything without using the letter A.

Let me tell you – I wracked my brain all morning trying to figure out how to write a piece that still applied to one of my stories, moved the plot forward, all without that letter (doesn’t help that 3/4 of my characters have that letter in their names lol). On the bright side, I still had the letter E (the most worn out key on my laptop). It’s been a long time since I’ve had to work such word-acrobatics, and it was a ton of fun!

I settled on writing another piece from Niklaus’ point of view, since last week someone wanted to know if his list was anything like Ariella’s. This is a direct continuation of yesterday’s post, so if you want context, check it out!

Enjoy!

~~~

Kissing her would be simple. She’s moved in her sleep, not entirely tucked into me now. Her slightly open lips hover mere inches from mine. It’s impossible to sleep with her this close, when the only thing filling my thoughts is pulling her closer still – pressing my mouth to hers.

Pull yourself together.

She trembles, brow crinkled in worry, or sorrow, I’m not sure which. Her voice – no words, only soft, frightened whimpers – spurs me to move, to try to quiet her distress.

“Shh…” I follow the curve of her spine with my fingers – she sighs. “I’m right here, love.”

~~~

Did you know MS Word counts dashes as words? That’s kind of annoying, because I had to retroactively put them in after writing the piece.

Anyway, hope you liked yet another peek into Niklaus’ mind.

Friendly Reminder: #TuesFlashFicTrain round 4 is waiting for a start! Give the prompt a look and see what story you can set off:)

As always, think happy thoughts!

8 thoughts on “Sleepless Night

Tell me what you think!

