Bittersweet Dream

dreams
Image found at notable-quotes.com

Hi again!

Didn’t think I’d find time for this one today, but here we are! Thanks to #ThursThreads this morning, I’m feeling inspired to write about The Breach Trilogy. So, for Tara’s 100 word challenge over at Thin Spiral Notebook, we’ll be getting a peek at how a certain leading lady is doing. It’s more of a drabble, and I’m keeping it vague and trying to be spoiler-free in case anyone wants to read Reckoning 🙂

Prompt: Dream

~~~

It’s always the same dream, the same sandy shore under an endless night. Above me, the full moon provides all the light I need. Even though I sit facing the water, the waves lapping at my feet, I know he stands behind me. This respite from my solitary existence is bittersweet. It isn’t real, but I can’t help the joy in my chest when I see him in my peripheral. As always, he sits on the sand beside me. If I reach out, he’ll disappear.

I hug my legs to my chest. When I look at him, he simply smiles.

~~~

Yeah, I’m definitely feeling inspired to work on my book. Hooray! Hopefully I can both work on that and keep this blog active. The juggling act continues!

Be sure to check out the rest of the responses at the prompt – you’d be surprised at how much awesome can come from only 100 words!

Friendly Reminder: #TuesFlashFicTrain is in the station and waiting for you to board! How will you wrap up Rita’s story?

As always, think happy thoughts!

10 thoughts on “Bittersweet Dream

  1. I’m not familiar with Reckoning, but I think it reads well enough as a standalone as well. It’s wistful, dreamy and melancholic, and you can feel her sadness in such a short paragraph.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

