#FlashMobWrites – Inspired

planning
Image found on picturequotes.com

Happy Weekend!

Today’s piece comes courtesy of #FlashMobWrites. We’re back to Videl and her dilemmas, but maybe things are looking up!

On to the story!

Prompt: “I can’t stop”, “staying home instead”

 

~~~

I’m not sure if the idea hits me all at once, or if it’s been building. Angels haven’t crossed my mind since that stunt Marcus pulled to make me violent. It’s not like I enjoy thinking about it, either. Now, though, I can’t stop wondering how Marcus somehow convinced Max to help him piss me off. The angel did offer their help back when we first met, but I hadn’t believed them. After all, why would an angel help a demon? But they were willing to help Marcus – maybe I shouldn’t have judged them so quickly.

When I get to the house, Marcus is leaning on his desk, eyes darting from the image of my mother in the mirror going about her day to some papers scattered about. It’s the first time I’ve seen him look even remotely overwhelmed.

“You alright?” I put thoughts of angels on the back burner for now.

“Yeah, just trying to find something. The boss came by with another assignment for you.” I bite back an annoyed response and let him continue. “I had the address for the place written down – ah!” He pulls out a sheet of folded up paper before walking over and handing it to me. “Here it is.”

I barely glance at it before pocketing the note- the address had a name written underneath. “Another one?”

“Yeah – he’s really been trying to make up the numbers we lost.” His voice doesn’t betray any emotion. This is the third new demon I’ll be collecting in the last couple of hours alone. It’s odd that Lucifer would send me but I don’t question it. As much as I’d like staying home instead, being out and about helps me think. Marcus doesn’t seem to mind being forced to watch over my family, either. “You should hurry – that one’s due in a few minutes.” He glances at the clock on the wall.

“When I get back, I want to run something by you.” I start to make my way out of the room. “I have an idea for how to deal with my grandmother.”

Instead of saying anything, he simply nods. Outside, I grab the slip from my pocket and look down at the address.

Moments later, I’m standing in front of an abandoned building. Almost immediately, I can sense the other demon’s presence.

“Hello? Joseph?” I walk through the threshold, its broken door hanging off the hinges. Without asking, I know that the man lying on the floor inside is Joseph. He’s dead, lying in a pool of his own blood, an angry gash across his neck. I wonder if he did that to himself, if that’ll be his mark.

When his eyes snap open, I barely flinch.

“Who are you?” He gives me a look of clear distrust. “Where’s Lucifer?”

“Videl. And you probably won’t get to see him much, to be honest.” I try to smile. “If you’ll follow me, we’ll get you ready for your first assignment.”

~~~

Why didn’t she (read: I) think of that sooner? I knew giving myself a break from this story/going back to do some rereading would jog the creative juices. Be sure to keep an eye on the prompt post – there’s always tons to read!

As always, think happy thoughts!

UPDATE: Honorable mention! Yay!

soldier49

Tell me what you think!

