#ThursThreads -Binding Words

binding word
Image found on anythingbrilliant.com

Happy Thursday!

So I don’t usually participate in the #ThursThreads challenge the week following a win, but I’m feeling pretty determined to keep up daily posts, so here I am! It was tough trying to work in the same line in a second story, but I managed.

Prompt: “A deal’s a deal.”

We’re back to Videl, but this is a short one so there’s not much plot advancement. Enjoy!

~~~

Sometimes I wonder why Lucifer doesn’t break his contract with my grandmother – just take her gifts away as easily as he gave them. I voice my thoughts to Marcus, and he looks at me like I should know the answer. “Isn’t it obvious?”

“No?”

“A deal’s a deal, Videl. Lucifer’s word binds him.” He pushes himself off the wall he’s leaning on, stretching his arms above his head. “Even if he could revoke the agreement, it would mean giving you back.” He looks away, but not before I catch a glimpse of pain in his eyes.

“Oh.” The thought never occurred to me. Is it possible to turn a demon back into a human? Not like I can go back to living a normal life after all this, anyway. My mother has a new life and family. There’s no way in hell I’d live with my grandmother, either. “Guess that’s out of the question, then.”

Marcus looks over at me, eyes curious. “Do you want to be human again?”

“To be honest? I don’t know.” I shrug, turning my attention back to the mirror we’ve been using to watch my mother. She’s going through her morning workout. “Not sure I’d be able to adjust, to tell you the truth.”

“Why not?”

It’s a valid question, but I don’t think he’s expecting my answer. Instead of a reason relating to my mother or grandmother, I say the first words that come to mind. “I think I’d miss you too much.”

~~~

Just a short moment between Marcus and Videl. Be sure to check out the rest of the responses to the prompt over on Siobhan’s blog! There’s always great stuff to read.

Friendly reminder: #TuesFlashFicTrain awaits! Check out the prompt and give it a go 🙂

As always, think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

