#FlashMobWrites – Giving In

forbidden
Image found on quotezon.com

Happy weekend!

This was another one of those weeks that just seemed to drag on forever, but it wasn’t too bad. I got more writing done than I thought I would (though not as much as I’d like) and even wrote up this piece! It’s been a while since I participated in #FlashMobWrites, so it’s nice to jump back into it again.

I wanted to try to use the prompt to work on Withered Legacy some more, but Videl wins out, as she tends to do. This one’s been a long time coming, and only complicates her story further. Oh boy.

Prompt: “the room starts shaking”

Enjoy!

~~~

It’s almost like the room starts shaking with his knocks on the door. Why is he bothering? We’ve already talked about this – what happened to ignoring it? I continue to sit on the bed, refusing to open the door. Last time, he’d let me walk away – encouraged it even – so why is he so eager for me to open the door now?

“Videl.” He doesn’t say anything else, just my name over and over.

“It’s alright. I just…just need some rest.” I know I won’t be getting much sleep, though. Why can’t I ignore the feeling in my chest?

Marcus suddenly stops knocking, but no footsteps follow the silence. Is he just going to wait until I come out? Even though I know it’s a bad idea, I get up from the bed and move towards the door. It’s clear that I can’t ignore my feelings, and stifling them this way clearly wasn’t working. Whatever Marcus decided to do seemed to work for him; maybe he could help me do the same.

When I open the door, he’s leaning against the wall, arms crossed. I close the door behind me and mimic his stance.

“Better?” At his question, I look down at the floor between us, unwilling to look him in the eye.

“Listen, I know you didn’t want to hear that – I’m struggling with…with suppressing…”

“If you think I didn’t want to hear you say that…that you worried about my safety, then you misinterpreted when I said we’re better off this way.” He pushes off the wall and crosses over to me. “Just because I said we shouldn’t doesn’t mean I don’t want…”His hand came up to cup my cheek, pulling me up to look at him. “You’re not the only one struggling.”

Whether we act on our feelings or not, what’s the difference? There’s no way the boss doesn’t already know or at least have an idea, if Ash’s reaction to us was any indication. I let my eyes close, leaning into his hand’s warmth. “And here I thought you were under control.”

“I’m glad you’re amused.” His thumb strokes my cheekbone, but I don’t think he realizes he’s doing it. When I open my eyes again, he’s much closer than before.

“No point in denying myself small pleasures.”

“Small pleasures…?” He sounds like he’s tasting the words. When he starts to lean in, I’m caught between him and the wall again. It’s the lightest of kisses when his lips finally brush mine. When he pulls back, he’s reluctant, his hand on the wall beside me helping him keep his distance. “No…”

“What’s the point?” My voice is a whisper of hope. He hesitates to remove himself completely, and I surprise us both when I grab his shirt and pull him to me, standing on my toes to meet his lips again. My other hand brushes his cheek, and he gives in, tugging my hip and closing the rest of the space between us.

~~~

They finally gave in – about damn time.

Be sure to check out the other responses to the prompt today and tomorrow! Consider submitting one yourself, too – exercise those writing muscles.

Friendly reminder: Looking for more writing prompts? #TuesFlashFicTrain prompt is up and waiting for you! Submissions close tonight at midnight EST.

Update: Got an honorable mention! Woo hoo!

soldier45

As always, think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

