Lucifer Pilot – A review, I guess?

Tom-Ellis-in-Lucifer
Image found on screenrant.com

So I didn’t know this show was starting until a few weeks ago. I know nothing of the source material other than what a quick Google search reveals: the character was created by Neil Gaiman for The Sandman comics and then got his own spin-off series, Lucifer. Both comics were published by DC, so this is my second foray into a DC-comic inspired TV show (Gotham being foray #1).

Can I just say I was in love by the ten minute mark? If you’ve read anything under my Secondhand Soul tag, you know I’m a sucker for redeemable demons. I’ve also always been a fan of the idea that Luci’s just doing his job – that he does what he’s supposed to because that’s just how things are. Which seems to be the case in this new show.

A quick summary of the premise:

Lucifer has decided to rebel (again) and quit his job of tormentor of the awful. He decides to take a vacation on earth and seems to be running a nightclub. This has created a thorn in the side of the people upstairs, seeing as he’s throwing off the balance by not doing his job. We get glimpses of this anger from upstairs in the form of an angel, Amenadiel, who occasionally comes to visit this episode.

The show itself seems like it might take the format of a police procedural, maybe. It wouldn’t be the first time Fox does with with DC (Gotham, I’m looking at you), but I’m not sure how long that’s going to last (again, see Gotham). For now, though, I’m very much enjoying Lucifer and Chloe’s buddy-cop dynamic with underlying sexual tension – because of course there is. If you’re a fan of Castle, you might want to check this out for that alone.

From beginning to start, the episode was pretty funny – Lucifer makes no attempt to hide who he is, and the people around him just kind of brush him off as a weirdo, which is great. He literally flaunts his immortality and ability to get people to act on their deepest desires like it’s nobody’s business and that makes him that much more enjoyable. Despite his obvious dickishness, he seems to have a soft spot for humans. He’s truly torn apart by the idea that his meddling in Delilah’s life is what led to her death, which prompts him to investigate and continuously cross paths with Chloe.

My favorite part of the episode was his interaction with Chloe’s daughter, Trixie. From the moment he said he hates children, I knew I was going to enjoy his interactions with the kid, and I was right. Even though he hates kids, Trixie warms up to him almost immediately. She even runs and hugs him at the end of the episode, making him hilariously uncomfortable. On the topic of Trixie – I love that the female lead is also a mom. That doesn’t usually happen in these shows right off the bat, and it was refreshing. Always on the lookout for diverse, well-written ladies, I’m really looking forward to how Lucifer treats its female characters aka I need to see more Maze!

I know I’m just rambling (I’m no good at reviewing TV shows), but I really enjoyed this show and really, really hope they don’t cancel it. My taste in TV doesn’t usually coincide with everyone else’s (The Walking Dead notwithstanding) so my favorites are always just a couple of poorly written episodes away from the chopping block. Here’s hoping that doesn’t happen to Lucifer because I need something to hold me over while I wait for my other shows to come back.

I don’t think I’ll be doing weekly reviews, but if an episode strikes me then I’ll probably put something up. If that’s the case, until next week!

Friendly reminder: #TuesFlashFicTrain prompt is up and waiting for you! Check it out 🙂

As always, think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

