#ThursThreads – Cooperation

Happy Thursday!

So the deadline for #TuesFlashFicTrain has come and gone once more, with no submissions. I’m considering opening the window to accommodate schedules. Maybe two days just isn’t enough time to get the word out, so I might extend it to be a whole week. What do you think?

In other news, I’m back in the swing of things as far as participating in flash contests, so here’s my post for this week’s #ThursThreads contest. It’s Videl again, and a direct continuation of Monday’s post for OurWriteSide’s Master Class series.

Prompt: I’m willing to listen.

Enjoy!

~~~

Marcus does an about face and walks out of the room, leaving me behind staring at my hands. The bloodstains are invisible now, but I can still feel them – a constant reminder of how I gutted that woman.

“Are you coming?” The demon leans back into the doorway, tone annoyed. “We don’t have all day. Well, we do, but that’s not the point.”

It’s clear he isn’t going to wait for me much longer, as his footsteps echo down the hall. Unwilling to sit in the empty room alone, I quickly push myself to catch up with him.

“You’re going to be difficult, aren’t you?” He glances sideways at me, and I can’t shake the image of his green eyes turning almost entirely black, the color bleeding out of his eyelids. “I can already tell.”

“Can you blame me? I’m not here because I want to be.” Thoughts of my grandmother bubble up in my mind, and I find myself absently touching my bracelet. “I didn’t sell my soul – someone else did.”

He jots something down on his clipboard. “To be honest, I can’t tell you what happens if you don’t cooperate, but it’s probably not fun. For you, anyway.”

“Not like it matters if I’m willing to listen or cooperate, right? Won’t I be forced to do as I’m told?”

His next words shoot a bolt of fear through me.

“The boss likes rebels, actually. He won’t force you – he’ll make you want to do it.”

~~~

This is quickly becoming one of my favorite mini-stories I’ve got floating around. Let me know what you think in the comments & don’t forget to check out the other entries throughout the day – all the contestants are pretty awesome writers!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on picturequotes.com

Tell me what you think!

