#ThursThreads – Saying Goodbye

Hello!

This’ll be a pretty short post, since I don’t have much to talk about. NaNoWriMo is going way better than it was last year, although I’ve yet to write a single word towards that project today. Here’s hoping I can pump out the necessary words to get back on track before tomorrow. So far I’ve been doing alright, so I think I’ll be able to manage.

Part of NaNoWriMo is how super busy we all are, so I’m thinking I’m going to postpone continuing the contest until it’s over. It’s hard enough for me to remember to prepare the posts and find time to meet my word count, so I know it’s hard to find time to work on your project and participate in flash contests at the same time. There’s only so much we can take, so #TuesFlashFicTrain will be on a brief hiatus until December.

Despite NaNo calling my name, I found time to work on this week’s #ThursThreads prompt (part of why I haven’t gotten around to digging into my word count yet today).

Prompt: “Tonight she is forced to say goodbye.”

Enjoy!

~~~

“Videl, wait!” I ignore my grandmother’s voice behind me, opting instead to shut the door to my bedroom in her face. If things were different, I’d be nervous of the chewing out my mom would have ready for me for disrespecting my grandmother.

“You have no right to expect her to listen to you!” My mom’s voice floats through the door as she berates my grandmother. “Because of you, tonight she is forced to say goodbye to ownership of her own life!”

30 seconds.

Whatever else my mother or grandmother say is lost to my ears, as a strange, deafening ringing replaces any and all sounds. It triggers the biggest headache I’ve ever experienced, bringing me to my knees and making me forget where I am as I clutch my head with both hands. My throat hurts, and I know I must be screaming my lungs out. My eyes sting with tears, and I try to focus on anything but the pain. Eyes locked to the space between my door and the floor, I watch as footsteps overtake the space. Are they trying to get in? Do they hear my screams?

Everything’s burning – my skin is on fire I can’t see. It hurts to breathe, but I keep doing it, unwilling to let myself lose. The air sears my chest, my lungs. I taste blood. What’s happening to me?

When did I close my eyes?

When I come to, I’m alone in a dilapidated, run-down version of my bedroom.

~~~

Videl is quickly growing on me (I’m already eyeing another flash prompt I want to answer with her), but I’m trying not to get too carried away before I finish with Emma and Malakai. Now that #WOW555 isn’t running anymore, I’ll need to find a new weekly prompt to feed their story. Here’s hoping!

Friendly reminder: Still looking for votes on a title for the #TuesFlashFicTrain! Check the ending and vote for your favorite!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Update: Another Honorable Mention! Yay!

4891154_orig

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on quotesgram.com

2 thoughts on “#ThursThreads – Saying Goodbye

Tell me what you think!

