#TuesFlashFicTrain Winner & Title Vote!

Prompt Winner: Stephanie Ayers

Stephanie Ayers

Happy Monday!

Hooray! We’ve made it to the end of one whole round of #TuesFlashFicTrain and voters chose Stephanie Ayers to wrap up our story! She wrote a beautiful ending in response to last week’s prompt. It left me both feeling emotional and with a sense of closure and satisfaction for the protagonist.

Read parts one, two, three and four, then check out her winning ending entry below & stay tuned for the next round of prompts!


My fingers fumbled nervously as I tore at the stitches. My curiosity grew larger every second. Just as I burst, the last stitch broke, and the seam spilled open. My eyes closed as my fear trembled hand reached inside, and touched something cool and metallic. I opened one eye as I pulled the item out. A shiny silver key sat there on my palm. Long and thin with a wide top, it was an antique key that would open an old lock. My mind shifted through the various rooms of the house. I knew I overlooked something. I wandered through the house slowly, until a small silver chest tarnished with age atop my mother’s dresser caught my eye. The lid refused to open until I stuck the key in the lock and turned it. A stubborn click released the top, which flipped open spontaneously. The wind blew cold breath on the back of my neck, pushing me forward just enough to peek in the box. It contained papers, neatly folded and yellowed by time.

I sat on the bed, and chewed my bottom lip. The wind ruffled the papers in the chest before planting a kiss on my cheek. Heat chased the wind out, and I sat there, too stunned to move. The house had been sealed shut, and I had not opened a single window. Where did this wind come from? Icy fingers crawled up my arms, and I rose. A push of frigid air brought me to the chest again. I stared at the papers, not yet ready to cure my wonder. The wind pushed again, insistent. I reached out, then balled my quivering fingers into a fist and shook it.

Dust bunnies scattered as I lifted the paper from the chest. As I opened it and read, memories rushed over me. The old woman returned, my face intimate with the palm of her hand. My cheek stung as though I had been slapped, yet no one was there. I lowered the papers, taking it all in when a news clipping fluttered to the floor.

“Couple saves child from house fire.”

My mother and father stood in the headline photo, a small girl between them.

“Octavia Wylde accused of arson and child endangerment.”

My eyes focused on the papers again, taking in my name and the two names beneath it. My final gift of love from the parents I never thought loved me, my adoption papers. My entire life history contained in one small box.

I had been gone too long.


Tell me that wasn’t an amazing ending! The entire story overall is awesome, and that is not an easy feat to accomplish in less than 2000 words! Be sure to check out the story as a whole when it goes up later this week- I’m still trying to figure out formatting and how I want to put them on display.

Be sure to visit Stephanie and congratulate her all over social media:

And check out her project,  Our Write Side – a community of writer resources and awesome stuff!

Thank you to everyone who’s participated in the contest so far – Stephanie, Renee, & Chad! It’s been great to read your responses and I’m grateful that you’ve made time in your busy schedules to fit in #TuesFlashFicTrain 🙂

Now that the story’s done, it’s time to pick a title! Stephanie and Renee gave pretty good suggestions, so they’ll both go up and you guys get to pick:

Looking forward to starting a new story next round!

As always, think happy thoughts!

1 thought on “#TuesFlashFicTrain Winner & Title Vote!”

  1. Reblogged this on Write on Wendy and commented:
    Congratulations to Stephanie! And if you are looking for another flash fiction contest since WOW555 is currently on sabbatical and morphing into something else, be sure to check out Katheryn’s contest!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

