Random Post – The Runner

Even though it’s not even raining out, I just want to stay under the cover of blankets with a warm cup of coffee and read, write, or more likely sleep. It’s a drowsy Saturday for me, even though I tried to start the day off right by staying awake this morning instead of staying in bed. I even did Zumba (even though my ankle’s still not up to par and I felt too worn out to complete the hour). In my continued effort not to fall asleep in the middle of the day, I’ve participated in #FlashMobWrites challenge again this week.

This contest is super fun, and this time I was able to fit both prompts into my response.

Prompts: “angel in disguise”, “the devil never”

Enjoy!

~~~

The Runner

The sounds of fall were everywhere – children laughing among the rustling of leaves, the wind picking up just enough to make the trees sway. With the breeze came a chill down my spine, prompting me to burrow deeper into my scarf and pull my hat farther down. It really wasn’t that cold, but I wasn’t built for this weather – I craved the warmth and, during the winter and fall, basked in what sunlight I could find. So that’s exactly what I did as I awaited my mark – sat on a particularly sunny bench in a seemingly random spot along one of the park’s many walkways.

Just as the thought of my mark crossed my mind, the rhythmic steps of a jogger caught my ear. Strong steps – determined, skilled, would very clearly try to outrun me if it came to it. Thankfully, he wasn’t that kind of mark, and this wasn’t that kind of assignment. I hated those assignments. With a deep breath I stood from the bench and hid in plain sight, knowing that he wouldn’t see me even if he looked right where I was standing. He wouldn’t see me until I wanted him to.

I took two steps forward – to the man, it would seem like I’d quickly gotten up from the bench – and made him knock into me. Feigning surprise, I fell back.

“Ow!”

“Oh, I’m so sorry! Didn’t see you…” The jogger looked at me with concerned, grey eyes, reaching with one hand to help me up as he pulled out his headphones with the other.

“No, no, it’s my fault.” But I took the offered hand anyway, smiling gratefully. He was much colder than a human was supposed to be, the shock of recognition running through me affirming him as my mark. He was attractive, too, though I should’ve expected it. The devil never gave me targets I wouldn’t feel some attraction to, though I still hadn’t figured out why. “I’m a complete klutz – should’ve been more careful.”

“You’re not hurt, though, right?” He didn’t notice the shock – no one ever did. Instead, he was completely focused on my appearance. I knew what I looked like to him – to humans in general, when I let them see me – an angel in disguise. The assessment wasn’t too far off, though angel wasn’t the word I’d use.

“I’m fine. Sorry I’ve interrupted your run.”

“I was practically done, anyway.” He looked off to the side, nervous now as he ran a hand through his hair. I knew he was looking at the coffee shop across the street behind me. “Listen, I feel really bad about knocking you over – can I make it up to you with a cup of coffee?” Being one of the devil’s runners was almost easy sometimes.

“You don’t have to…”

“Please, unless you have somewhere to be?”

I pretended to think about it. Sighing, I “gave in” and responded, “Sure, why not?”

~~~

That’s it for this post! If you’re interested, check out the contest – submissions are open until midnight PST.

Friendly reminder: Voting for #TuesFlashFicTrain is open until tonight at midnight EST! Show these awesome writers some love and keep a lookout for the winner appreciation post on Monday!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on sayingimages.com

2 thoughts on “Random Post – The Runner

Tell me what you think!

