WOW 555 – Mundane Tasks

Happy Friday!

Hope everyone’s week was as productive and busy as mine! The days fly by with weeks like these, and it’s always nice when the weekend is upon us in what seems like the blink of an eye. This week was particularly good because #TuesFlashFicTrain had its first participant/winner, Stephanie Ayers! This hopefully means the ball will really get rolling next week, now that we have a starting point!

It feels like forever since I’ve written about Emma and Malakai – although it’s really only been two weeks – so it’s nice to finally get back to them. This week’s #WOW555 prompt also fit in perfectly with Emma’s feelings about her mother, too.

Prompt: For this week’s prompt, give me a nostalgic story (which can include flashback if it fits your idea better) and see if you can include a yellow tractor, or at least the color yellow.

Enjoy!

~~~

Mundane Tasks

I was still having a hard time believing I was on the other side of the world.

A part of me didn’t want to believe I was walking down a street in Cairo, Egypt, doing my best not to think of the heat or the way the blazing sun was beating down on us. We’d only been settled in the hotel for about an hour before Esther sent us off to get some food while she tried to figure out a way for us to explore the ruins of Heliopolis.

“Didn’t think it’d be this hot…” Malakai took a drink of his water bottle and wiped the sweat from his brow.

“It’s Egypt – what were you expecting?” An obnoxious, yellow awning caught my attention, belonging to a small grocery store. The air conditioning practically called out to us. Before I could suggest going inside, Malakai was pulling me through the doorway.

It was instant relief, punctuated by the sound of a bell over our heads as the door closed. Outside, the street had been busy with people bustling about, cars stuck in rush hour traffic. All noise turned off like a switch once we were inside.

“Grab some snacks. I’ll see if I can find something to make for dinner.”

This grocery store was almost familiar, similar to the one within walking distance from my house. The aisles were pretty narrow, the shelves stocked completely full, giving everything almost a claustrophobic feeling. I made a straight line for the back of the store, where the meat would be. Such a mundane task – grocery shopping – I’m not sure why I felt so uneasy. It shouldn’t have been that much of a mystery, though, as the sight of a mother and daughter surveying the red meats made pretty clear what was bothering me.

This was such a simple thing we used to do together, whether it was shopping for magical supplies or for dinner. Sometimes it even annoyed the hell out of me that she always dragged me along. I felt the tears prickling at my eyes, my throat constricting. All I could do was stand there, staring at a tray of raw chicken, clenching my teeth and fists to keep from crying. That we hadn’t exactly been on great terms the last time I spoke to her didn’t help matters.

“How do you feel about chocolate chip cookies?”

Malakai’s voice made me jump. “What?”

“Emma?” He’d caught me so off guard I didn’t get a chance to hide the emotion in my eyes. His expression turned to immediate compassion as he pulled me into a hug. He was still sweaty from our walk, and that somehow grounded me, made me feel better. Would he try to make me talk about it? It’s not like I didn’t appreciate the concern, but the last thing I wanted to do was draw the moment out. When he didn’t saying anything, I relaxed slightly. “What did you have in mind for dinner?”

~~~

When I started this story, I didn’t really think I’d ever get this far. The only other complete story I’ve ever told is Reckoning (Withered Legacy has yet to get to finished-first-draft status – NaNoWriMo here I come!).

Anyway, don’t forget to check out the rest of the responses on Saturday and show them some love! If you’re a writer, consider submitting.

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on quotesgram.com

4 thoughts on “WOW 555 – Mundane Tasks”

  1. I was surprised at how smoothly you pulled me into that grocery store! That was a very poignant scene. How does the #TuesFlashFicTrain work? I’d love to take a shot at it.

    Like

    1. Thank you!

      You can check out the #TuesFlashFicTrain rules here: https://fictiontrials.wordpress.com/tuesday-flashfic-train/.

      The general gist is this though: every week, a post with a prompt will go up on Tuesday morning and participants have until Wednesday night to respond in the comments. The catch is that they have to continue the previous week’s winning story. This goes on for 5 prompts and then resets with a clean start. The idea is to tell a story in 5 episode bursts with writers playing off each other’s pieces.

      Looking forward to hearing your stories!

      Like

Tell me what you think!

