#ThursThreads – Scared?

Standard

Happy Thursday!

So this week, this place has been way more active than usual, and I look forward to keeping that up!

In case you missed it this morning, #TuesFlashFicTrain had its first participant/winner, Stephanie Ayers – check her out in the winner post!

Now, on to my #ThursThreads response. So far, it seems like I’m continuing Ariella’s story (funny thing, I’ve yet to actually mention her vampire hubby’s name – maybe next week) and it’s definitely not ending any time soon. We’ll see how their relationship develops and go from there!

Prompt: “He could do what he came to do.”

~~~

Not Scared

Eerie quite permeated the halls, and I couldn’t help but shiver. The place creeped me out, but it went beyond living with vampires. Being alone would have been worse – it felt like there was something in the walls that would come for me if I let my guard down.

“They won’t hurt you.” His hand on the small of my back made me jump. “Sorry – I didn’t mean-”

“No – it’s okay. I was just distracted.” It was hard not to be, considering the outrageous situation. “And I’m not scared of vampires.”

“Good to know.” Again, he smiled – and this time the expression reached his emerald eyes. Was he really the same vampire from the ceremony? He had seemed so distant, as if even he was tired of all the pomp and circumstance.

“If he could do what he came to do a little quicker, then maybe the rest of us could go home!” I made no attempt to hide my frustration as I muttered to myself, waiting in line with the other girls for the vampire prince to make a selection. He looked as bored as I was annoyed, jaw resting on his fist.

Everyone else held their breath in anticipation. I didn’t realize I’d started tapping my foot until I found myself making eye contact with him. We held each other’s gaze for what felt like an hour but was barely thirty seconds, before he looked away, addressed the crowd, and called my name.

~~~

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! And don’t forget to check out the rest of the responses throughout the day and show them some love.

As always, think happy thoughts!

UPDATE: Another Honorable Mention! Woo!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on quotesgram.com

Tell me what you think!

