WOW 555 – Running Late

Hello –

Another quick one today. It’s been a very long week, and I nearly missed putting this out in time for #WOW555‘s deadline.

Prompt: write about the tools in a toolbox of your choice.

~~~

Planning the Hunt

It had taken the better part of two days, but we’d finally made some headway in our research. My mother’s books didn’t yield as much information as I’d hoped, but they were a good place to start. Phoenixes were mentioned multiple times, some with references to other texts I was able to find online. Esther had her own connections from her time working with witches and we were able to determine where our hunt would start – Heliopolis, current-day Ayn Shams in Cairo, Egypt. It was a good a lead as any, and we were running out of time. Now we just had to get there.

I was on my laptop browsing through flights, trying to find the cheapest one, with Esther looking over my shoulder.

“Seriously, Emma – just get the next flight out of here, and let me worry about paying for it.”

“I can’t do that.”

“You can and you will – I’m partly to blame for all of this, and I can foot the bill, so let me.” Apparently her line of work – whatever it was – garnered decent profit. From how she spoke, it seemed like she and Malakai had never had to worry about money.

“Hey, Emma, can you help me out here?” Malakai called from the front of the house. He’d been gone for about an hour, without telling either of us where he was going. Esther shooed me from the laptop and I didn’t have a choice but to go help him.

At the front door, he was struggling with a large bag, trying to keep the front door open while he tried to pull the sack inside. He was wearing a black backpack he didn’t have before, with several items poking out of it.

“What is this?” I pulled the door open all the way, holding it for him to finish dragging the large bag inside.

“Our phoenix hunting supplies.” As if to punctuate the sentence, he dropped the bag, which I now realized was full of birdfeed. He removed the backpack and spilled the contents, revealing a large fishing net, small plastic bags, a fire extinguisher, fire blankets, goggles, and gloves used for bird training.

“You do know we need to fly there, right? This couldn’t wait until we landed?”

He shrugged. “I was feeling restless – needed to do something.”

“Also – why so much birdfeed? I’m not even sure phoenixes eat.”

“It could serve as a distraction.”

“I think phoenixes are too smart for that…” His shoulders slacked at that, and I instantly regretted my words. “But better safe than sorry, though, right? I guess you can’t be too prepared.” I knelt down to help him organize our supplies, opening the bag of feed and starting to fill the smaller bags. “Thank you – for everything. Really. I’m sorry if I don’t seem grateful…”

“It’s alright.” He shot me a smile. “But you’re right – I don’t think we can get a fire extinguisher past security anyway.”

~~~

‘Til next week! Don’t forget to check out the other entries on Saturday/submit your own!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on wikigallery.org

One thought on “WOW 555 – Running Late

Tell me what you think!

