Hop on #TuesFlashFicTrain – Week 1.4

Standard

(Persistence – n. firm or obstinate continuance in a course of action in spite of difficulty or opposition. – according to Google.)

Hello! It’s a new week, and that means another round of flash fiction contests!

I also just noticed that NaNoWriMo is just around the corner, and that thought is slightly terrifying. Last November I barely made my goal and did a lot of catch-up playing. I’ve been a bit better about my writing habits since then, though, thanks to the flash contests I’ve been playing in, so here’s hoping I can do the same for you guys!

A little update on my weekend – It was full of football, thanks to an obsessive boyfriend. This obsession put us at a Penn State game at State College on Saturday that led to us making a three hour drive home at one in the morning. As a result of exhaustion, my boyfriend got sick and started vomiting all over creation on Sunday. After this though, he turned on his favorite football team (Jaguars) which improved his health – again, he’s obsessed, so football cures all. It turned out they won in a close match and for the first time in years, it looks optimistic that his team will have a decent season. Or at least compete against their opponents to make the games exciting. So yay!

Between football and my boyfriend, I saw several displays of persistence. Those teams persisted through their games and my boyfriend wasn’t about to let puking get in the way of watching his favorite team play his favorite sport. So this week’s prompt has to do with persistence:

Write about your character persisting/not giving up despite having all the odds against them. Feel free to make the prompt your own & let your imaginations fly! Keep in mind we’re trying to kick off a 5 part story. Submissions are open until 8PM Wednesday night.

Post your response in the comments & remember – keep it less than or equal to 400 words. Click here for a refresher on the rules.

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on pinterest.com

Tell me what you think!

