Hop on the Tuesday Flash Fic Train – Update & Week 1.3

(And again…)

This time, I got this done early! Woo hoo for me! Also, my ankle’s recovering nicely, and I’m itching to pick up Zumba again. Other than that, I’ve had a fairly uneventful weekend. Even though it’s been over a month since I moved out of Philadelphia, I’ve still got a mountain of stuff holed up in one of the rooms at my parents’ house that really needs to be sorted out. It’s an awful, painful process because I just really, really don’t want to do it. The only thing worse than packing is unpacking, and it’s going to take forever. On the bright side, a ton of my stuff is going into donation bins just in time for the winter, so at least I feel like I’m doing a good thing.

Anyway, still working on getting this contest up and going. I’ve thought long and hard about what changes I can make to the contest to possibly attract participation, and I’ve decided to cut the word count by half. Rather than 800 words, the new limit is 400. Shorter stories will also hopefully call in readers. Everything is still subject to change, as I’m experimenting to see what fits. If you have any other suggestions at all, please drop me a line in the comments. 🙂

Prompt time!

Unpacking/reorganizing the extra room in my parents’ house this week has brought the idea of hidden treasures to mind, so that’s your prompt! Write about hidden treasures – whether it’s someone finding one, keeping one, whatever you want! It can be anything that your character or story considers valuable, too, so don’t limit yourself to literal treasures. Keep in mind the response should operate as the beginning of a slightly larger story. If you want a refresher on the rules of the contest, check them out here.

Submissions are open until Wednesday at 8PM EST. Drop your stories in the comments and don’t forget to include social media links!

Looking forward to reading your hidden treasures. 🙂

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image credit: Image found via Google Image Search on azquotes.com

Tell me what you think!

