Hop on the Tuesday Flash Fic Train – Week 1.2!

Standard

(Try and try again…)

So this post is late, and for that I apologize. The weekend was a bit of a doozy, and when I woke up this morning and realized I’d forgotten to write and schedule a post, I considered not putting one up at all. But here I am – about to summarize my weekend and ready with a new, if a bit uninspired, prompt for this week’s contest.

Friday, I sprained my ankle (doing Zumba – damn you Samba!), and it’s pretty bad as far as non-serious injuries go. My foot’s all swollen and bruising in weird places, and it’s completely shut down all my hopes and dreams about my new Zumba kit – at least for the next month or so.  It is not fun, and my mom thought it was a good idea to tell me about her friend who went to the doctor with a sprained ankle and ended up as an amputee. It was also my dad’s birthday this weekend (we had a cookout at a local national park and stuff) and Labor day (involving another cookout) – meaning I was also much more active than usual, increasing the hobbling around. I never new how taxing limping could be, but I basically knocked out much earlier than I should have been each night. Then yesterday we drove my sister to school and made a day trip out of it and by the time we got back I was too tired to even remember I was trying to run a flash fiction contest.

That brings me to this week’s prompt. Seeing as I’m a slacker who couldn’t even bother to keep track of the days or take advantage of my benched state to get some writing done, that’s what you’ll be writing about, should you choose to participate! Write about avoiding responsibility/slacking off. This could be anything from your character putting off homework (like my little brother did this weekend) to someone playing hooky from work. Or anything that falls under the “I really should be doing something else…” umbrella. Let your imaginations roam free!

Remember, keep it under 800 words and stick to the prompt. We’re shooting for the start of a 5-episode story, so keep that in mind as well. Also, since I didn’t put the prompt up until late, I’m leaving submissions open until Thursday before I wake up (usually around 8AM EST). Don’t forget to include a Twitter handle/link of choice with your submission in the comments for promotional purposes! For the full rules, click here.

Speaking of the rules, I’m considering making some minor changes (e.g. word count, submission window, etc) to see if that attracts more participants. If you have suggestions, let me know in the comments! This contest is still a work in progress 🙂

Looking forward to reading your ideas!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on brainyquote.com

Tell me what you think!

