#ThursThreads – More flash fiction fun!

Saxon!
Saxon Mittens, named after my favorite of Lexia’s cousins.

I’m quickly becoming addicted to writing flash fiction – not really sure if it’s a problem just yet. How could it be, though, when it prompts me to make progress on Withered Legacy?

I’ve decided not to wait for Emma and Malakai’s story (#WOW555 prompt responses) to be done before attempting to make some headway with The Breach Trilogy. Plus, there’s no such thing as too much flash fiction! Thanks to Wendy, I’ve found yet another weekly flash fiction contest to participate in – #ThursThreads hosted by Siobhan Muir. If you’re interested, check out her page! The contest is pretty different from #WOW555, with an extra twist and a shorter word count, but variety is the spice of life! (Also, I’m playing around with different post layouts.)

Prompt: “Same way you do.”

So here’s my entry for this week – featuring Saxon! I haven’t written him in a while, and he’s definitely glad to be out and about.

~~~

Getting Acquainted

I was out of breath by the time I lost sight of him, forced to lean against the alley wall and clutch the gash in my side. Behind me, Elle’s steps caught up.

“Shit.”

“What do you think you’re doing, Saxon! You’re gonna bleed out at this rate…”

“Sorry…I thought I saw – ” My back pressed to the wall, I slid to the ground, wincing on impact.

“Adwin, I know.” Her knowledge of my twin’s name caught me off-guard. I’d never mentioned him to her, or anything about my past, really. “Now relax, before you make it worse.”

“How did you…?” I watched as she tended to my wound, lifting my shirt to reveal a hole that looked worse than it felt. Lucky for me the bullet had gone straight through.

Same way you do. Her voice echoed in my mind.

You’re a psychic? I’d never met one outside my family before. My mother always told us there were others, but I was starting to lose hope. After all, it’d been months since everything with Lexia, and no one ever showed up to help.

“Something like that.” Her smiling eyes shone periwinkle in the dark, an unnatural edge to them that reminded me of Garrett and the other Reapers, but it wasn’t the same. She placed each hand on either side of the wound, applying light pressure. The prickling sensation made me uncomfortable, but after a few seconds, Elle pulled her bloody hands away to reveal smooth, healed skin.

~~~

I’m excited! (If you couldn’t already tell.) Anyway, this contest doesn’t have a voting system, but still check out the other entries – I browsed through some previous prompts and there are awesome writers participating in this contest! Check the link in the prompt to submit – it’s open until 8PM Mountain time today!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Update:

Got an Honorable Mention! Yay!

1 thought on “#ThursThreads – More flash fiction fun!”

Tell me what you think!

