Hop on the Tuesday Flash Fiction Train – Week 1.1!

Standard

(If at first you don’t succeed…)

Happy September!

This year is going much too quickly for my taste. Seriously. I can’t believe this is the third start of a school year I won’t be participating in – that’s nuts! My Facebook feed is inundated with back to school pictures, only serving to drive this reality home. To top it all off, my little brother (eight years younger than me) is starting his senior year in high school, and my little sister (five years younger than me) is in her junior year of college. Like I needed more reminders of time zooming by. Summer is officially over in my book, and that makes me miss the anticipation of starting another school year, be it elementary, high school, or college.

In honor of my siblings’ advancements in school, for this week’s #TuesFlashFicTrain, the prompt will be focusing on milestones! Write about your character experiencing a major milestone in their life. It doesn’t necessarily have to be the usual milestones (graduation, wedding, childbirth). Get creative! Think outside the box! I’m keeping it broad, again, because the goal is to make the response to this prompt the first installment of a 5-part story.

If you need a refresher on the rules, check them out here! Most important thing to keep in mind this time around- 800 words or less!

I can’t wait to read your responses. You have until Wednesday at 8PM EST to submit an entry in the comments. Don’t forget to submit links to your website/facebook page/twitter handle with your entry for promotional purposes!

As always, think happy thoughts! (Here’s hoping for some participation!)

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on pinterest.com

Tell me what you think!

