Lessons of Adulthood (as told by me, a baby adult)

It’s rare when an idea pops into my head for a blog post, but this has been swimming around for a while. Not to mention, this morning my Timehop thought it’d be funny to remind me that my college freshman orientation was 6 years ago today. 6 YEARS. That’s over half a decade and really, truly blows my mind. It doesn’t feel like it’s been that long since I was a bumbling teenager trying to figure my life out (spoiler, I’m still trying to figure my life out, just with a little less bumbling and teenager-ness). So, for those of you still in college, I thought I’d talk about what I’ve learned in my brief adulthood thus far.

1. No matter how much you think you have figured out, there’s no way to know where you’ll be after graduating.

We’ve heard this all our lives, but it bears repeating. This is especially true if you went into school undecided, like I did. When I started my career at King’s College, I was torn between my love for English (writing in particular) and a need to have job security when I graduated. Despite my indecision, I did have an idea of where I wanted to be after graduation – successful, working in an office somewhere, doing some writing or something. At the time I was leaning more towards English. That changed when I took a computer science course and realized that I was not only good at it, but that I kind of enjoyed it (even if it made me cry/punch things in frustration sometimes). That one decision changed my life, basically. I don’t work in an office, I work at home. I do a lot less writing and way more programming than I’d like. I’m still adjusting to the autonomy of working from home – something I didn’t see myself ever doing. I thought once I managed to get a job after graduation that everything would work out and fall into place – turns out there’s a ton more to adjust to. I’m two years out of school and still struggling with finding a good balance in my life. The bumbling doesn’t end once you get a job, basically.

So, expect the unexpected and be prepared to adjust. Maybe everything will fall into place for you, and that’s awesome! Just don’t expect it to, and it’ll be a lot easier to deal.

2. Get good at scheduling your life!

Yeah I’m still working on this. Especially working from home – developing scheduling skills is crucial, or you’ll find yourself working odd hours of the night/losing track of time. You need to give yourself time for friends and family (they make the bumbling a little easier) and time for leisure. I struggle with the leisure bit. (Those of you keeping up with my posts know I have trouble finding time to just chill and read. Not to mention write.)

3. Go easy on yourself.

Another one we hear a lot and don’t pay enough attention to. Don’t beat yourself up if you’re not everything you wanted to be. Success, no matter how you define it, takes time. Just keep going at it – you only lose if you give up! Keep in mind that we can’t all be Taylor Swift. Plenty of supremely successful people were as lost as we were at this point. A perfect example: J. K. Rowling. If you need a bit of inspiration, check out this article. It does a world of good to give yourself a break and realize no one expects you to have it all figured out in your twenties.

And that’s it for this random rant 🙂 It kind of came out of nowhere, I know, but it’s been eating at the back of my mind for some weeks now. I know there’s still tons left to learn and so much I haven’t experienced yet, and that’s what makes life so exciting!

If you’ve got any lessons you want to share, please comment below! I’d love to hear them 🙂

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on buzzquotes.com

4 thoughts on “Lessons of Adulthood (as told by me, a baby adult)

  1. Kat, you’re absolutely right. I think that people forget that graduation doesn’t necessarily mean you will immediately fall into a job, and less people realize that you probably won’t end up with the job you thought you would have when you started the college game.

    That being said, it sounds like you nailed it. Not everyone can work from home; more power to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

