WOW 555 – Explosions!

Happy Friday & Happy Independence Day to those in the USA!

This weekend, I intend to write – a lot. Here’s hoping. It’s a much-deserved long weekend, so maybe I’ll actually feel rested at the end of it. Although, seeing as I’m writing this at 2AM the poor decisions of the long weekend have already started. I foresee late nights (no one to blame but myself), though hopefully not as late as this one.

That was kind of complain-y of me, so I apologize. Anyone’s who’s read my blog before knows I’m way more positive than that – I promise. I’ve been in odd moods lately. Maybe this weekend I can get over the slump.

On a side note – while this weekend is supposed to be a fun one filled with laughs and barbecues, please be mindful of the people around you. There are vets everywhere – some supremely sensitive to explosions. Please be courteous to them. Also, don’t take your animals with you to fireworks shows, or outside while fireworks are going off. The poor things will be terrified.

Anyway – no more somber! On a happier note, I was able to come up with a response to this week’s #WOW555 prompt. Malakai and Emma always seem to be able to pull me out of my writing lulls and into their fantasy world for a while. Even when I’m done with telling their story through these prompts, I’ll definitely revisit them every now and again – maybe develop them further than the original novella idea. I have to get through The Breach Trilogy first though – no more distractions!

Prompt: this week’s prompt, your story should feature an animal’s response to a sudden loud noise.

~~~

A Quiet Storm

Was there even a point in making me stay inside? Granted, the magic enchanting our house could shield me for a while, but why bother putting off the inevitable? It was all I could think about as I lay in bed, staring at the ceiling, silent as Malakai paced back and forth.

“You’re going to dig a hole into my floor.” Outside, a raven perched at my window. It’d been doing that for a few days now, becoming a permanent fixture against the blue sky.

Malakai stopped, taking a seat beside me on the bed but not lying back. “How are you so calm? I thought you’d be more stressed right now.”

“I don’t know.” I sat up with a shrug. “Despite everything, I haven’t felt this good in…ever, really. It’s like something was always missing, but I didn’t know what it was. Now, it’s like I’m finally whole.” Flexing my hands, I could feel my magic surging through me, ebbing and flowing. Of course I should’ve been more worried – the court could be coming for me any minute, not to mention the witch that was still after me and had Esther. I needed to focus on being prepared, but I couldn’t bring myself to care. Where was the anxiety from weeks ago?

“Maybe that’s a good thing.” He took my hand in both of his. It sounded like there was something more he wanted to say, and for some reason the silence that hung between us did trigger a tightening in my chest.

“Maybe…” It was hard to look him in the eye – to watch his guarded expression without making it obvious that I was trying so hard to read him. Ever since Aedan broke the curse, he’d been like this – shut off somehow, like he existed on the other side of a glass wall. Instead of watching him, my eyes wandered, drawing to Circe who chose that moment to prance into the room and hop onto the windowsill. She started pawing at the glass, apparently trying to get to the bird. On the other side, the raven was unfazed.

“Emma-”

BOOM!

The entire house shook with the explosion, causing Circe to jump and dart under my bed. Even the raven was spooked, shooting off into the sky without hesitation. Malakai and I ran down the stairs to find my mother lying in a heap against the wall in my kitchen, smoke making it difficult to see. It smelled like something was burning.

“Mom, are you okay?” I crouched beside her, examining her for any injuries. The ends of her hair were singed, but she was otherwise alright. A moment later she came to, shaking her head. “What the hell happened?”

“S-Sorry. Potion-spell combination gone wrong. I was trying track the witch.” I helped her up. Malakai ran around the room, opening windows and doors in an attempt to clear the air. Though it was mostly working, everything still had a faint grey tint to it.

~~~

So there’s that! If next week’s prompt allows, I’ll be writing some action! Woo! I’m out of practice with fight scenes so it’s good to know I’ll be making myself work one in somehow in the next few weeks.

Don’t forget to check out the other submissions on Saturday, or give the prompt a shot! It’s tons of fun and a great way to break from a block!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on sploid.gizmodo.com

1 thought on “WOW 555 – Explosions!”

Tell me what you think!

