WOW 555 – Happy Father’s Day!

Hello and happy Friday!

I almost wasn’t able to write this post in time for it to go up in a timely fashion (thereby making me miss #WOW555), but I managed! Woo!

Things are looking up in my writing/reading, though I had to reduce my reading challenge on Goodreads to 50 for the sake of morale. Who knows, though? I might definitely read more than that by the end of the year, so here’s hoping I can get that closer to 100 by December! I’m determined. As for my writing, the closer I get to finishing (or some semblance of finishing) Malakai and Emma’s story, the more I’m itching to hop back into The Breach Trilogy. Seriously. I have ideas – so many ideas. This break from working on my sequels has been good for me, I think. Not to mention recent reviews have re-invigorated me. We’ll see if I feel the same way a few weeks from now when I’m back in the thick of it. I’m hoping to have enough written by November that NaNoWriMo can be my final push into a finished draft. Again, we shall see.

Anyway, I’ll never get around to that if I don’t finish up with Emma and Malakai, so on to the #WOW555 prompt! This week, similar to the prompt around Mother’s Day a month ago, we’re focusing on dads for Father’s Day this Sunday!

Prompt: For this week’s prompt, let’s honor our dads by including some piece of fatherly advice.

Once again, I’m fortunate that this fit right in where I needed it to. So huzzah for that!

~~~

Breaking

I was anxious – more than I remembered ever being. Aedan agreed to help Malakai, not to retrieve Esther, but to break his curse. Though they were just in the backyard, preparing to begin, I couldn’t go anywhere near them. The enchantment placed on me – and the house – was dependent on my father keeping his distance. According to my mother, Aedan’s magic was strong enough to draw my faerie nature out, even more so since I got the first taste of that power back at the school. So I was confined to pacing in my room again, glancing out the closed window every now and again to watch as Aedan moved around a still Malakai, moving his hands in an intricate dance, apparently muttering something.

Something tugged at my chest again, the sensation escalating into pain. Instinctively I knew – this was what my father’s magic felt like. My faerie nature was responding to it, even from the confines of my room and at this distance. I doubled, collapsing to my knees and curling into myself. Clutching my shirt as if that would do anything to stop what was happening, I tried to control my breathing. This was different than the clawing from before. Every tug and pull was strained then, as if whatever animal trapped inside had no hope of escape, no matter how hard it tried. This time, though – escape was inevitable, and that terrified me. Where I once wanted to help it claw its way out, now all I wanted was to restrain it. It would ruin everything if it got out now.

“Are you sure this will work?” I voiced my doubt despite Aedan’s imposing presence standing over me.

“Fey and witch magic are two very different things. However, Fey magic is older, stronger in many respects. If there’s anything other than that witch’s magic that can break your curse, it’s Fey magic.”

“So Emma might have been able to help me after all.” My eyes wandered up to her window, where she stood, hand on the glass, looking down at us.

Silence hovered for a bit, before he spoke again. “I want to thank you.” He must have seen the confusion on my face, because he continued. “You’ve made Emma happy.”

“I wouldn’t say that. All I’ve done is bring her – all of you – problems.”

“You’d be surprised what a little conflict can do for someone.”

“I thought about leaving – for her sake. And after all this I still might.” I hadn’t told Emma that, but I couldn’t help the guilt that ate away at me at having put her in danger.

Aedan’s eyes turned sympathetic, and the hints of a frown appeared at the corners of his mouth. “It won’t help – you or her. After you save your sister, if Emma wants you and you want to stay, then stay.”

Aedan began chanting. In the window, I caught a glimpse of Emma as she continued pacing.

~~~

I’m hoping to allow Emma to actually connect with her father at some point. Looks like his keeping his distance will be useless soon, so we’ll see!

Don’t forget to check out the rest of this week’s responses on Saturday, and definitely consider joining in on the fun!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image credit: Image found via Google Image Search at justcuteanimals.com

Tell me what you think!

