WOW 555 – Joy

Happy Friday!

Another great week, punctuated by the premiere of Jurassic World! I went to the midnight release, and let me tell you, it was amazing! I felt like a kid again watching the first one for the first time. Seriously, it’s pretty damn good and I’m looking forward to any sequels they might decide to do. We need more awesome dinosaur movies!

Fitting in with how excited I was/am about Jurassic World, this week’s #WOW555 prompt had to do with expressions of joy!

Prompt: this week’s prompt is to provide some expression of joy.

Maybe my brain is in movie mode, but all I could think of at the word joy is Amy Poehler’s role in the upcoming Pixar movie – Inside Out. Still managed to fit it in with Malakai and Emma though!

~~~

Moving Forward

It was probably being cooped up inside the house – with nothing to do but think and avoid my mother – that led to my less than brilliant, though totally accomplishable, plan. But it didn’t matter to me – I needed something to hold onto, something to keep me from snapping again, and planning how to rescue Esther was the perfect distraction. I’m not sure why I didn’t think of it sooner, though.

When I did speak to my mother, I always caught her off-guard. She seemed to be getting used to it, though.

“Mom, we need to talk.” She was preparing some medicine for a client in the kitchen, her hair frizzy from the heat and fumes floating off the top of her cauldron.

“What do you need?” Our relationship was still strained from our fight the other day, but she was making an active effort to appease me. Sometimes I felt guilty – this wasn’t one of those times.

“Is there a way for me to get in touch with Aedan?” At the mention of my father’s name, she froze mid-stir and looked up at me.

“You know you can’t have any contact with him.”

“But you can. And that didn’t stop him from showing up at the academy.” I crossed my arms, taking a seat at the kitchen table.

“You were in danger.” She turned towards me, eyes apprehensive. “He didn’t have a choice.”

“Well he doesn’t have a choice now. I need his help. Either you get me in touch with him, or I hand myself over to the Court.” I said it with a shrug. The queen wasn’t going to hurt me – according to my mother, she wanted me as something akin to a pet, or a bodyguard like my father was.

“Why?”

“I promised Malakai I would help him save his sister, and it’s only a matter of time before it’s too late. It’s my fault the witch found out he was with me – so I want Aedan to help him.”

She looked about to argue, but held back. “I’ll see what I can do.”

I couldn’t help my smile – part thankful and part victorious. “Thanks, mom.”

After a brief, if awkward, hug to show my gratitude, I went to the backyard, where Malakai was gathering some herbs my mom asked for. I told him what we were going to do.

“Seriously?” His eyes lit up.

“Yes. My mom is going to talk to him.”

At my words, Malakai’s face broke into a smile and he threw his arms around me, pulling me and lifting me up, spinning us for a moment before putting me down again. Without warning, his lips pressed to mine in a sweet kiss, his hands cupping my face.

“Thank you.” He spoke against my lips, before placing soft kisses on my forehead, my eyelids. His joy was contagious, and I found myself smiling again. Everything was going to be okay – I held onto that thought.

~~~

And that’s that! Be sure to check out the other entries on Saturday and vote for a favorite! If you’re a writer, play with us!

Also, if you missed it last week – Reckoning was on tour! Check out my appreciation post here and take a peek at the reviews!

As always, think happy (or joyful) thoughts!

Image credit: Image found via Google Image Search on huffingtonpost.com

1 thought on “WOW 555 – Joy”

Tell me what you think!

