WOW 555 – Deep Within

Standard

Hello, hello and happy Friday!

This week was quite a short one (thank you, Memorial Day!) so it felt like it flew by. Despite the week’s brevity, though, I got a ton of writing done! Unfortunately, it has nothing to do with Withered Legacy (I’ll get back to that soon, I swear). I’m working on a short story I want to submit to a contest on Inkitt. Deadline is this coming Wednesday (June 3rd) by midnight, and I’m so close to being done. No guarantee that I’ll be done in time, though. Either way, it’s been a fun exercise and I’m enjoying writing outside my usual time period/world/genre. Click here if you want to check it out and/or vote on some submissions!

Anyhoo, on to the reason I’m still an active blogger: #WOW555! Seriously, without this contest, I’d be posting once every three blue moons on here.

I actually won last week, too, which was nice. It’s been a while.

Prompt: Your prompt for this week is to dive within.

So let’s see where the prompt took Emma and Malakai!

– Unknown

 

~~~

Unraveling

Malakai’s pain stopped. He was panting, though, attempting to regain control of himself after the torture.

“Are you alright?” Beside me, the figure that scared the witch away spoke. I had to turn around to look at him – I couldn’t avoid it forever – but I kept my eyes on Malakai.

“I’ve-I’ve had worse…” Malakai groaned as he straightened up. When he saw who saved us, his eyes widened.

Out of the corner of my eye, I watched as a long braid shifted in the night’s cold breeze. It wasn’t until I was looking into his eyes that I realized mine had followed the braid up to his face. Now I knew why I looked almost nothing like my mother – I took after him. Ethereal – otherworldly – that’s the only way I could describe him. Though each of his features were exaggerated – his eyes too big to be human eyes, the angles of his face too sharp – I saw my own in them. The only thing we didn’t have in common was our hair and skin color – my hair and skin shades of brown like my mother’s, his silver and alabaster.

He stared back at me, looking as if he had something to say, but couldn’t figure out how to word it.

“Why are you here?” I looked away, turning my attention back to Malakai, helping him stay on his feet.

“I sensed the surge in your ability.” Did he know that I knew who he was? “You can’t stay here anymore. I have to take you home.”

I’m not sure how I was able to keep it together the way I did. Malakai expected me to snap – I knew he did. Whether it would come in the form of a mental breakdown or something else, I still couldn’t tell.

A few days went by – my mom fed the academy some story about a death in the family – and all my things were sent back home. Needless to say, I had to explain Malakai to my mother. Given the situation and secrets she and my father – who I now knew as Aedan – kept from me, she let me off easy, even allowed Malakai a place on our couch.

And so I was confined to my room, alone with my thoughts, while my mother and Aedan did damage control. They put spells on my room to keep my power hidden, but I could feel it threatening to break the surface. It kept me up at night, so all I could do was meditate. Sitting against the door, eyes closed, I took deep breaths. Something buried in my chest tugged, pulled, and fought against invisible restraints. Wanting nothing more than to let it out, I pulled with it. With every session, it called out to me louder, more desperately. It hurt immensely, like a clawed animal trying to tear its way out, the pain almost enough to make me stop. Almost.

~~~

I feel the end approaching. It’ll be interesting to see where the prompts take us next! Don’t forget to check out the other responses on Saturday and vote – if you’re a writer, share your talents!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image Search on pinterest.com

One thought on “WOW 555 – Deep Within

Tell me what you think!

