Some thoughts on writing and motivation

Despite my recent recovery from writer’s block, I’ve been hit by a whole new monster – motivation (or rather, lack there of). Now I’m starting to think the writer’s block was just an excuse I was using not to write. That’s not exactly the best feeling in the world. My solution for these things have always been to just force myself to write, but that seems to be near impossible right now, though I’m not sure why.

I keep getting distracted (oh I need to clean, hey I’m gonna take a nap, etc) so finding my focus has been a bit of an issue, too. I guess maybe writing this blog post is even an excuse to not work on my fiction. But at least I’m writing, right?

I need to get excited about writing again, just have no idea how to go about it. I think I need a writing group – or something. Something to hold me accountable with deadlines and stuff, because I’m awful at setting them for myself. Times like these I really miss school.

Needed to let off some steam I guess. Sometimes I wish I could just plug my brain in and dump the words onto the screen.

Anyway, that’s my rant for the weekend. If anyone has any ideas on how I can motivate myself, feel free to share!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image credit: Image found via Google Image Search on thepeopleproject.com

2 thoughts on “Some thoughts on writing and motivation

  1. Speaking of plugging your brain in and dumping your words onto the screen, that’s a bit what having my new dragon feels like. Not trying to be an endorsement here, but with my bluetooth headset, I can be messing with some cleaning or laundry or something and essentially do exactly that. It’s cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

