WOW 555 – Looking at the big picture

Hello and happy Friday!

It feels like it’s been much longer than a week since I last posted – probably because I posted twice last week.

Anyway, I hope everyone’s doing well! To the writers out there – how’s your writing going? I believe April is Poetry Month, so if you’re a poet, I hope the month has been fruitful!

With all the crappy weather lately, it’s been difficult to get out of my writing slump (you would think it’d be the opposite, but oh well). Thankfully, the weekly #WOW555 prompts do a great job of keeping me going – especially when my work on Reckoning‘s sequel, Withered Legacy, is really feeling the writer’s block. Emma and Malakai are a fun way to get the creative juices going, so hooray for that!

Prompt: Based on the idea of you can’t see the forest for the trees, write a story in which your character struggles because he or she is unable to see the big picture.

– A favorite proverb of mine, by the way!

As always, a challenging prompt – especially these open-ended ones. It took me a while, but I think I came up with an alright response.

~~~

Revelation

To his credit, he didn’t make a run for it. Malakai simply stood there, looking at me with eyes full of remorse and hesitation.

I asked again – “Why?”

“I never should have come to you in the first place.” He sat on my bed, hunched over with his head in his hands.

“That doesn’t answer my question.” When I didn’t feel like standing anymore, I moved to sit on the bed as well, but with a few feet of space between us.

“I’ve put you in danger – this is my problem and I never should have dragged someone else into it.”

“What danger? It’s not like anything’s happened…”

Silence hovered between us – heavy, so unlike the comfortable quiet I’d gotten used to sharing with him. What wasn’t he telling me? Rather than push the matter, though, I let the silence weigh him down. I could see him struggling with his words, his eyes reflecting once more how confused he was.

“The witch that has my sister wants you in exchange for her – those are the conditions for breaking my curse.” Before I could respond, he took a deep breath and continued. “I never wanted to hurt anyone – I was going to try to find another way. Then I thought maybe you could help me, so I approached you. After all, if she wanted you so badly you had to be pretty powerful. At the very least, I’d have access to information that could help. It was never my intention to hand you over, and the witch doesn’t even know I’m with you now, but it’s only a matter of time before she finds out.”

It was a lot to take in, and I struggled not to let my kneejerk reaction be anger. What wouldn’t I do if my family’s life was on the line? “Why not come for me herself?”

“I asked her once – she can’t track you, but she never told me why.”

“Can’t track me?” Something jogged in the back of my mind. “Could it be because of the seal on my magic?”

“Doesn’t matter. I’m going to leave.” He stood, making for the window. “I’ll find another witch to help me, and then I’ll get my sister back.”

“No.” I grabbed his wrist before he could get far, my grip stronger than I had expected it to be.

“What-?”

“There’s no use getting hung up on the possibility of me getting hurt.” I released his wrist and went to stand in front of the window, arms crossed. “Not when I apparently have strong magic protecting me.”

“But-”

“No buts – if you want to protect me and save your sister, leaving now is stupid. Without a familiar, I can’t stay here, under the eyes of powerful witches, where I’m safe.” I didn’t let go of his wrist. “Look at the big picture – leaving wouldn’t solve anything.” I moved my hand to hold his. “Let me help you. Please. Don’t leave.”

~~~

So what awaits these two next? I don’t even know – I have ideas, but it’s all on the prompts! I’m really having fun with this, so I hope I can keep it up and actually finish their story – maybe start a new one! Or use the prompts to help Withered Legacy.

You know the drill – don’t forget to check out the rest of the entries tomorrow and vote for your favorite. If you’re a writer, consider submitting.

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image Credit: Image found via Google Image search on www.quotescover.com

1 thought on “WOW 555 – Looking at the big picture”

Tell me what you think!

