WOW 555 – Party time!

Happy Friday!

Hope everyone’s had a wonderful week! Weather was beautiful around me up until last night. It’s the first day of spring and it’s snowing and gross. In case you couldn’t tell, I’m sick and tired of it. However, one thing this weather is good for, is reading and writing! I’m slowly but surely getting back into the groove (15 books behind my Goodreads reading challenge and counting…) and I hope to be really back into it soon!

This week’s WOW555 prompt was about parties – or not wanting to go to them.

Prompt: For this week’s prompt, include the question “do we have to attend another party?” (or a derivative that meshes with your character’s voice).

Without further ado – on to the story!

~~~

Becoming Social

Malakai’s purrs echoed through the room. I did my best to stay awake, but lying on my stomach to study was doing very little to aid my efforts. I’d already made a pillow out of my book when Jaci rushed in.

“Suit up, Emma! We’re going to a party!” Any hope of sleep was long gone.

“Another party? Do we have to?” When I returned from break, I did everything to keep my mind off my mother – tried to actively be Jaci’s friend. By some miracle, I’d succeeded – a little too well. She was outgoing and had a love for parties and dragging me to them. Going out once in a while was good for me, so I humored her. Today, though, I was beyond exhausted.

“Please? It’ll be fun!” It had grown increasingly difficult to say no.

An hour later, we were making our way through the woods surrounding the academy. This was a school-sanctioned event, going by the lack of secrecy and the excess of noise. From Jaci’s explanation, the party was to celebrate the end of a major round of exams. There was a bonfire through the trees. It was a familiar path to the same clearing Malakai and I frequented.

“Jaci!” One of her friends – Angela, I think – called her over. I followed, and she greeted us with a friendly smile. “Emma! She convinced you to come?”

“Barely. I was in the middle of a nap.” I feigned annoyance, though I really was grateful to Jaci. Sitting alone in the room tended to get my mind going – wandering into thoughts of my sealed powers, helping Malakai… The shifter in question had decided to tag along, now sitting at my ankles.

We sat in amicable silence for a while, watching everyone else. Malakai sat on my lap, continuing his nap from before. I wasn’t sure why he’d decided to tag along. After a while, someone started playing music – a spell, since technology was forbidden. Two guys came over to dance with Jaci and Angela, and I was alone again.

“You didn’t have to come, you know.” He meowed. I pretended to understand what it meant.

“Hey. Emma, right?” A guy sat down beside me, his smile friendly, though I felt like prey under his gaze.

“Yes…and you are?” I smiled back, though it was strained.

“Ethan. Wanna dance?” He grabbed my hand, which had been absently scratching Malakai. His grip was tighter than I expected.

“No thanks.” I pulled on my hand.

He released it, but got uncomfortably close. “Come on, sweetheart. It’s just a dance.”

“I don’t want to.” And I didn’t like that endearment, or the way he looked at me. Rather than continue to talk, I grabbed Malakai and stood. “I’m heading back.”

“Bitch.” He muttered, but I heard it. Before I could react, Malakai lunged at him, biting and scratching before jumping away and disappearing into the night. Stifling the urge to smile, I ran after him.

~~~

Hope you enjoyed it! Don’t forget to check out the other entries on Saturday. If you’re a writer, consider submitting!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image credit: Image found via Google Image Search on wikipedia.org

One thought on “WOW 555 – Party time!

Tell me what you think!

