WOW 555 – Some luck…

Happy Friday!

St. Patrick’s Day is just around the corner! I’ve never been huge on this holiday, to be honest, and this year probably won’t be any different. But, either way, Happy Saint Patty’s! Have fun, go wild, but be safe!

In the spirit of the greenest of holidays, this week’s #WOW555 prompt was about four-leaf clovers!

Prompt:  For this week’s prompt, I want you to find a four-leaf clover, that extra leaf representing luck.

Emma and Malakai could use a little luck and happy thoughts right about now.

On to the story!

~~~

Coping

“Emma, what’s wrong?” Malakai sat beside me, back pressed against the door, speaking in a whisper so my mother wouldn’t hear.

“We have to go.” I was suddenly glad to be packed, standing and grabbing my bag before pushing the window open and climbing out. Focusing all my ability on floating down without getting hurt, I landed well enough before turning around and stretching my arms out for Malakai. He got the idea, shifting into his cat form before hopping out the window.

I held onto him like a life-line. He didn’t protest.

That was two days ago.

The motel bed was lumpy underneath me, but that’s not what woke me. Something tickled my nose, the light touch fleeting. Malakai’s weight sank the mattress beside me before he spoke, “You’ll have to face her eventually, you know.”

I turned my back to him, burying my face in the pillow, facing the wall.

“Emma.”

“I know.” I sighed, any drowsiness long gone. When I sat up, Malakai’s worried look made me want to crawl back under the covers. I fought the urge, focusing instead on the little green thing he’d used to wake me.

“Found it this morning – figured you could use a little luck.” He held out the four leaf clover, twirling it by the stem.

“Thanks.” I took it from him, holding it in my palm. “How am I supposed to talk to her?”

“I don’t know, but you won’t get any answers by moping here.” He gestured around us at the dingy motel room. I didn’t answer him, eyes still focused on the clover.

After some more coaxing, he convinced me to check out of the motel and make my way back to my mother’s house. This time, he walked beside me as a human.

“I think I’ll put off asking about it.” We’d been walking in silence for almost ten minutes.

“Why?”

“It sounded like she – they – were trying to protect me from something. My twenty-first birthday isn’t that far off. I could probably wait until then.” I felt selfish, knowing that if I tried to unseal my magic sooner I’d be better help to Malakai. “I’m sorry. I know you need me to help you, but…”

“No worries.” He turned, walking backwards so he could face me. “I have no right to ask that of you. It’s not worth risking your life.” He smirked, “Besides, being your pet isn’t so bad.”

I returned the smile, unable to help myself as I hugged him. “Thanks.”

He chuckled, returning the embrace. “I didn’t do anything.”

I pulled back to correct him, but froze at our proximity. Our eyes locked, and my chest tightened, heart pounding against my ribcage. Before I could move, he pressed a soft kiss to my brow. His lips stirred the memory of our kiss, and I felt myself blush.

The rest of the walk home was silent, but comforting. By the time my mother greeted us, he was a cat again.

~~~

So there you have it! Malakai and Emma are moving along, as always. Don’t forget to check out the rest of the contest entries, or submit if you’re a writer!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image credit: Image found via Google Image Search on wikipedia.org.

1 thought on “WOW 555 – Some luck…”

Tell me what you think!

