WOW 555 – A Moment of Growth

Happy Friday!

Today, I’ll be cutting straight to the chase – I have very little to report. Same old, same old, still working on reading more/writing more/discipline, etc.

This week’s prompt for Wendy’s WOW555 left a lot of room for interpretation – more than usual, I think – so it was a bit hard for me, especially with the added constraints of continuing Malakai and Emma’s story. Hopefully, I didn’t fail too terribly.

Prompt: Choose whatever kind of story you want to tell, but show us a moment of growth.

Here goes!

~~~

A Request

My heart skipped a beat, my face breaking out into a smile despite the dull pain on my backside courtesy of the four foot drop. When my eyes snapped open, they were met with Malakai’s, wide with surprise.

“You did it!” We were back in the clearing – a bright, Saturday morning sun shining down on us. Malakai had the latest curse book in his lap, though he wasn’t paying much attention to it. “About time.”

I glared in response, though I knew he didn’t mean anything by it. “Shut up.”

It was the first time I’d been able to levitate that far up off the ground, without having to meditate. After that first minor success in my room, it started coming a little easier to me, as if whatever dam blocking my ability suddenly developed a few cracks, the trickles of water beginning to spill through. Every day since then – it’d been about a week – I got a few inches higher. “I think I can go higher…”

“You probably shouldn’t push yourself.” Malakai went back to his book, flipping the page.

“You’re one to talk – when’s the last time you slept?”

“Cats take naps during the day.”

“You’re not a cat.” I sighed, taking a momentary break to walk over to him. “So what have you found out? Anything useful?”

“Only that I don’t need the caster to break the curse, nor do I necessarily need to follow her rules.” That reminded me – he still never told me what the conditions for his curse were, only that he refused to comply. “There have been cases reported of people breaking their own curses through sheer will power…or with the help of particularly powerful individuals.”

“So what? You’re just going to sit around and wish really hard for the curse to go away?”

“No – that would be a waste of time. I’m going to go with plan B.”

“How many witches do you know?”

“One.” He smiled – a cheeky smile, the smile of someone about to ask for a favor they know they have no business asking.

“No – are you insane? I can’t even begin to figure out how to break a curse. Maybe you haven’t been paying attention over the past month – my magic isn’t even up to par with everyone else’s here. I have to work ten times harder just to try to keep up.” My rant completely unfazed him, and he simply continued to watch me.

Now standing, he leaned back against a tree and crossed his arms. “Are you done?”

“Mal-”

“I think you’re the one who hasn’t been paying attention.” He raised his hand, twisting his wrist around to examine the cat collar. “How many people do you think could have done this? Or that language spell the other night. Imagine what you’ll do when you do catch up to everyone. Don’t sell yourself short, Emma.” He closed the book, handing it to me. “Think about it? Please?”

~~~

So there it is – hope you enjoyed it! Don’t forget to check out the other stories on Saturday and vote for your favorite. If you’re a writer – submit!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Image credit: Found via Google Image Search on awesomestjohns.com

Tell me what you think!

