Review – Forbidden: The Brethren of Erebus (Book 1) by L.M. David

Tour Banner

Happy Saturday!

Like I mentioned with my previous review, I’ll be participating in the Spread the Word Virtual Book Blog Tours (a neat promotion program from 2 Book Lovers Reviews). The rules have been changed somewhat, for a revamp of the program for the new year. The first tour of the year is underway for Forbidden: The Brethren of Erebus – check out the schedule here,

Now, onto the book! (SPOILER FREE)

First, a synopsis/excerpt:

Forbidden follows the quest of a vampire named Moros. A skilled warrior, he’s a member of the elite Brethren of Erebus, an organization of vampires that protects the peace of the vampire world. Under the order of his lord, Aramis, he’s sent to the United States in a search of a solution to the problem of their declining population in Europe. The solution comes in the form of a woman – Julianna. With nothing but the woman’s name and Oracles’ riddle, Moros ventures to a land completely foreign to him. Upon arrival, he learns that he’s been betrayed, exiled from the European vampire brood on false charges. The quest becomes personal, his ticket home, and he enlists the help of the American branch of the Brethren of Erebus to complete it.

Forbidden Quip

The review:

3.5 stars

Forbidden: The Brethren of Erebus was a fun, though sometimes frustrating, read. Once the story pulls you in, you’re in for good. For me, though, it wasn’t until around chapter seven that I was fully pulled into the book. I’ll usually put a book down if the first three or four chapters don’t do the trick, but I gave Forbidden a chance because I absolutely love vampires, and I was sympathetic to Moros’ annoyance and disdain towards his master, Aramis. The first few chapters of the book threw me, mainly because we saw much more of Aramis and his family than we did of Moros, and the former isn’t really pleasant. Once the story began to center around Moros, though, I was able to really get into it. It was a lot of fun watching him struggle to reconcile what he knew with everything he didn’t. His mannerisms are ancient with respect to modern America, and he has a really hard time adjusting to the people around him and their quirks – mainly Cole.

Another aspect of the book that kept me going was brevity – the author doesn’t unnecessarily linger on any one thing for too long, and, if you read my previous review, you know I’m a fan of brevity. Some of my favorite parts of the book were the descriptions of fight scenes – short but elegant. She has a gift for writing them, making you feel as if you’re right there watching, rooting for the good guys to kick some ass. The quick pacing was able to pull me out of the parts of the book I enjoyed less than the rest, and kept me scrolling. Despite the brevity in descriptions, it wasn’t difficult at all to envision the world Moros walked in. Without going into too much detail, the author paints a picture of two worlds in one – the human world we all know, and the world of the supernatural seemingly just around the corner. She also manages to weave several different mythologies into her book, sometimes at the risk of juggling too much, but it all works. We get to see demons, Oracles, nephilims, and an array of other mythological entities. Although I love brevity, I sometimes wished she would take a little more time on these other mythologies, rather than making them minor plot devices.

The cast of characters was a wonderful group to follow around – I loved all of them (even the despicable Aramis). They were the ones that really pulled and kept me interested. Moros is a wonderful protagonist, strong and proud, yet sympathetic to those who could be considered beneath him. Although supremely skilled, he is by no means perfect, and that is highlighted in the way he struggles to adapt to the new surroundings, and how he handles his romantic feelings. His confusion was enjoyable, and I found myself wanting to pick on him the way Cole did. Cole was another gem – very human despite his half-vampire nature, and I loved it! A classic screw-up, he gets the most sympathy from me, as I love an underdog story. Every character had his or her own personality, and that’s difficult to accomplish with such a relatively large cast to juggle. Every character was developed to the point where I could relate to them and wanted to see (most of them anyway) succeed. My only issue, which I hope is addressed in the next book, is that some of the characters’ stories felt unfinished – mainly Cole, who quickly became my favorite. I’m hoping the author focuses on him in the next installment. Julianna is another character we didn’t get enough of as far as development goes – I’m hoping that gets taken care of in book two, as well.

The plot was an adventure, and I was more than happy to go along for the ride. Between investigating the Oracles’ riddle and carrying out his quest, Moros never had a dull moment. While his story felt somewhat complete by the end of the book, I hope to see more of him in the future, too.

Conclusion: If you like vampires, adventure, and a splash of romance, this book is for you. Once I got into it, I had a ton of fun reading it and couldn’t put it down. A couple of editing mistakes sprinkled throughout made me stutter once in a while, but it wasn’t anything my affection for the characters couldn’t get me through. I’m looking forward to the next book.

About the Author:

L.M. David

L.M. David has been writing novels since Jr. High School after taking a Creative Writing class and becoming an acquaintance of Lazette Gifford, who is now a prolific writer. Initially drawn to the genre of Science Fiction, a fascination with paranormal/urban fantasy/romance drew her into the dark erotic world of vampires. The more she read about the subject of the ‘undead’, the deeper her fascination with folklore and legends of the vampires became. This is also L.M. David’s first attempt at writing a New Adult novel.

 

L.M. David, in recent months, has contributed an article to the ezine Vision: A Resource for Writers (http://visionforwriters.com)

L.M. David, when not writing, has varied interest — building computers, making quilts, pillows and does scrapbooking. She has worked as a legal assistant and as a nurse in the medical field. Although born in New Jersey, her family relocated to Southern California and now considers themselves Californians. Her family includes Patches, a stray cat who nosed her way into the L.M. David’s life and Paws, who stubbornly sat on the front porch and patiently waited for hours to be invited inside. That was six years ago.

Check out L.M. David and Forbidden at the following links:

Give away!

Enter for a chance to win a free e-copy!

Spread the Word Tour banner

As always, think happy thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Review – Forbidden: The Brethren of Erebus (Book 1) by L.M. David

Tell me what you think!

