#5MinuteFiction – Nearly missed (again)

fullmoon

Happy Hump Day! This was yet another week in which I nearly missed out on participating in #5MinuteFiction. As a result, my piece was a bit shorter than I would have liked, but I’m moderately proud of what I came up with, so yay! This week’s judge was Karyn Pearson – be sure to check out her website!

~~~

This week’s prompt:

Your character is walking alone at night in a secluded area and the flashlight goes out. There are no other lights around, and they’re certain that there’s nobody else there with them. Then suddenly, they hear a noise behind them.

My response:

My footsteps were all I could hear, echoing despite the open streets surrounding me. Everything was empty – the shops, the houses. Despite this, I knew danger lurked around each corner, just waiting to jump out and get me. All that held them back was the flashlight in my hands.

And it was flickering.

“Come on, come on…just a little longer.” No one listened to my prayer. The light went out, and I could feel their breath on my neck, warm and sticky, the blood of their last victim still fresh, dripping onto my chilled skin.

It bit down, hard, the pain causing an explosion of light before it all went dark again.

~~~

I absolutely loved this week’s prompt, and I’m thinking of continuing where I left off – just in time for the Halloween season! Didn’t make it into the finalists this week, but that doesn’t mean you guys shouldn’t go and read their wonderful stories and vote!

As always, think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

