#5MinuteFiction – Escape!

Hello! #5MinuteFiction has a new home over at Catrina Taylor’s website, The Writing Network! I’m beyond happy that the contest didn’t have to end with Wendy, who happened to be this week’s guest judge. I had a lot of fun responding to this week’s prompt, and it even helped me explore a character that’s been swimming around in my head for a while. My flash piece is below, with a corrected typo, but you can view the original here.

~~~

Prompt:

Your character is trapped in an unfamiliar place and must use what’s available in that space to escape. (no cheating and leaving a pair of convenient bolt cutters in a jail cell or something).

My response:

When I woke up, it was to the worst headache imaginable. Someone was taking a jackhammer to my skull, from the inside, and not holding back in the slightest. As I tried to move I realized my wrists were bound, my hands clamped together. I followed the chains at my wrist and saw that they stopped a a few feet from me, short enough that I wouldn’t be able to stand upright completely.

Dammit. This is what I got for playing hero.

Rather than sit around bemoaning the situation, I did my best to take in the small space, looking for what I could to aid my escape. To the credit of my captors, they’d made sure to remove both my belt and hair clips before throwing me in here, so I had no choice but to attempt to use my surroundings. Yanking on the chain was no use, and all it did was make the metallic sound echo in what I concluded wasn’t so much a room as it was a large closet.

A sudden banging on the door caused me to jump, and a voice floated from the other side. “Quiet in there!”

Great. A guard. Because I needed another obstacle. With a sigh, I pushed myself back against the wall, at least able to sit up. The room was completely empty, save for me. Unless someone walked in with a key and the intention to save me, I wouldn’t be going anywhere any time soon. Unfortunately, I knew no one was coming. Unable to do much else, I braced myself, steadied my arms, and swung – hard – against the wall, the metal binds clanging louder than I thought possible.

“Shut up!” How many times would it take before I got him to come in?

CLANG! I kept going, my headache getting worse by the second as I did what I could to provoke the guard. I was dizzy with the echoes when the guard finally broke down and walked into the room, clearly pissed and ready to hit me. “I thought I told you to be quiet?”

Without hesitation, I did it one more time, this time watching as he held his ears in protest at the invasive sound. He growled in frustration and charged at me, I guess supposing I was mostly helpless. Faster than he could register, I headbutted him in the gut before he could finish swinging. He let out a cough, as I’d winded him, and tried again. This time, I sat back and kicked – well, more like shoved both my feet – up and into his groin. They hadn’t thought to remove my boots – the heavy garments a weapon in their own right.

He doubled over, falling to his knees in pain, and I swung my leg one more time, catching the side of his face. He was out for the count, and close enough that I could go through his pockets, finding the key to my restraints. Soon enough I’d chained him to the wall, rubbing my wrists in relief at the weight being lifted. I could hear commotion coming from down the hall, and knew I still had a ways to go before I’d be completely free.

~~~

Don’t forget to check out the other stories, and vote for your favorite!

As always, think happy thoughts!

UPDATE: This entry won! Woo hoo!

2 thoughts on “#5MinuteFiction – Escape!

Tell me what you think!

