The Search for Motivation (You can do it!)

Today is just one of those days. Feeling completely unmotivated to do much of anything, I’ve wandered over here, making it seem like I post way more often than I normally do.

As I take a break from forcing myself to work (because motivation is a rare and fleeting creature), I wonder exactly why it’s so difficult to get motivated. I’m not just talking about work, either, but about everything – writing, studying, exercising, dieting, etc. It’s tough, motivating yourself to do something that your brain just doesn’t want anything to do with in that particular moment. When I get like this, I try to think of the end result – of how good it feels when that goal is finally reached – when the assignment is done, when the number on the scale is the one I want, when the next chapter is complete. It works sometimes, and other times (read: most times) it doesn’t.

So, as I’ve done in the past, I’m posting this as a method of self-motivation, in an attempt to kick my ass into high-gear. Sometimes, we just need a reminder that we can do it. This is that reminder, for me, and for anyone who reads this post and could use a boost in their motivation, regardless of what it’s for.

All together now: We. Can. Do. It. Whatever “it” is.

Something that works for me, at least in the writing arena: reminding myself of past success – aka re-reading a piece I’m particularly proud of. In my case, my go-to is a short story I wrote for my creative writing class in college. Personally, I think it’s the best thing I’ve ever written – and, though I’m super proud of the accomplishment that is Reckoning, this short story will forever be my favorite, and the best piece of literature I’ve produced to date. It’s titled A Parting Gift, and you can give it a read here, if you’d like. (How’s that for seamless, shameless self-promotion?)

Anyway, just thought I’d blurb a bit, and in the process motivate a few others out there who might be looking for some motivation of their own.

Think happy thoughts!

Tell me what you think!

